U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop Android Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at U.S. Cellular.

Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™

Applicable Smartphone Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee apply.Applicable Prepaid Smartphone Data Plan required. $20 or $50 act. fee may apply. Applicable Smartphone Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. may apply. $35 act. fee required.The Samsung Galaxy S Aviator, a 4G LTE capable Smartphone, is your connection to entertainment on the go, in a sleek, slim design. The 4.3" Super AMOLED Plus Screen delivers ultra sharp images, even in direct sunlight. Quickly and easily download your favorite movies and TV shows from Samsung Media Hub and enjoy Android 2.3. Chat with your friends with the 1.3 MP front-facing camera, and capture moments with the 8.0 MP main camera.
Overall rating:
2.594 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(355 reviews) 355
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 355 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
36
2 Stars
69
1 Star
132
125 out of 355(35%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Review 101 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Freezes

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone has given me nothing but problems. It freezes, it's slow, and now it is not recognizing my memory card. Don't buy it.
Pros: Durable, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Battery Life, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 102 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible phone

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
from Keene, NH
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Run from this phone. There is a delay in everything. Phone is not powerful enough to play games and it constantly lags.
Pros: Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 103 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Always Freezes and GPS never works

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I do not recommend this phone. Went from the Mesmerize to Aviator for the 4G LTE but the phone itself is so unreliable. Processor is horrible. Don't get yourself stuck with this phone for 2 years!
Pros: Menus, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 104 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Value Phone, but Locks Up Constantly

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
from Des Moines, IA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is very similar to the Samsung Galaxy S Mesmerize, but it locks up constantly. The only real differences are the front-facing camera and the 4G LTE radio. Event he Android version is the same.
I would definitely NOT buy this phone again. The Axiom looks like a decent replacement, but I'm 15 months away from being able to do anything about it.
If the phone is under any sort of heavy load (Google+ Hangout, Niantic Labs Ingress game, watching video) then it will lock up on you.
Pros: Durable, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 105 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I do not recommend!!!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
from Northwest Illinois
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for 3 days. It is super slow, dropped calls constantly, texts have to be re-sent several times. I will be returning for a different phone in a few days when I can make it to US Cellular.
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Durability, Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 106 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This phone is AWESOME!!!!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for 5 months now and I've had no problems.. Except the battery life!! The battery life isn't that great but I usually get through the day. Sometimes if you play games it freezes and it just randomly restarts.. But other than that this phone is the best i've ever had!!
Pros: Speaker, Games, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 107 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product is Fast and has great features.

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
from Portage, WI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phone is very good. It is way faster loading things. If you play games the battery will die before the end of the day. The longest it last while playing games and surfing the net was six hours. I love been able to watch TV shows and movies on the phone.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 108 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor construction of phone

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
from Maine
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had more problems with this phone than any phone Ive had. I have charging problems, its freezes and restarts. I took pictures and the pictures didnt save then my phone kept saying no sd when sd card was in phone. I just got a replacement phone and this phone is already freezing up and restarting on its own. I do not recommend this to anyone. And this phone doesnt have a notification light for texts or missed calls.
Pros: Good For Texting, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Operating System, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 109 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Went well for a week or two

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
from IOWA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is by far the worst phone i have ever owned. It freezes at least 3 times a day. I am sometimes unable to call out and several times i have been unable to hang up from a call. If you want to download any apps you might as well not waste your time, they won't work. This phone is the biggest piece of junk save yourself the money and the trouble get something else, anything has to be better than this
Pros: Tools, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Bulky/Heavy, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 110 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This phone is terrible.

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
from Steger, Il.
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is terrible. A regular problem is connect to use internet. it locks up multiple times per day. Which CS solution is just take the battery out. plus i feel i should be able to remove preinstalled downloadable games especially if i will not buy it.
Cons: Full Navigation, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 111 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

slow

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
from iowa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
couldnt even get it activated i just want my electrify back while they try to program it my phone is dying
Pros: Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes, bad activation
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 112 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not ok.

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
from Tomah, Wisconsin
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone since August 2012. Its already junk. Its extremely glitchy. It freezes, re starts on its own. Has a hard time downloading picture messages and now the charger
port is broke.
Pros: Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 113 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Overall 4G LTE Starter Phone

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
from Elizabeth City, N.C.
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
My wife used this phone for about 2 months and overall she liked it. This was her touch screen phone and it did take awhile for her to get use to it after changing to it from a Blackberry. She did like the features that this phone has along with the Android format verse the Blackberry. After she mastered the touch screen and the Android features, she decided she wanted a bigger screen with a little more power. She dicided to go with the Samsung Galaxy S II. So overall this was a very good started phone that helped to introduce her to the Android touch screen world. Very nice phone for the price. USCC Customer Crew Member
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Menus, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Limited Memory
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 114 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good phone for basic users

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
from Iowa City, IA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well I got this phone 2 months ago, I am in college right now with 2 jobs and school - I use this phone for everything(schedule,call,text,internet), it's started to slow down which I predicted. It's started to restart and then just turn off randomly by itself..which is not good. Overall its a good phone for a teenager - still nervous about the next couple of months if its already starting to have issues after 2 months.. good phone overall SO FAR, but recommended to spend more money for a better lasting phone!
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Bulky/Heavy, Software Bugs, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 115 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of Junk!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had this phone for 8 months and I absolutely hate it. It freezes up and restarts on its own. I it not reliable and you never know if it's going to start back up. Keep Looking!!!!
Pros: Durable, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes, wifi hotspot doesnt work
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 116 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not impressed

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
from Oregon
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for about 6 months now and it always gives me fits. Definitely a lot of bugs in this phone. Freezes at least twice a week and needs to be restarted often. Recently it deleted all of my messages for no apparent reason. I have a friend who also has this phone that has many problems with it so I know it's not my specific phone.
Pros: Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Battery Life, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 117 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

big disappointment

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
from Madison, WI
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was so excited to get this phone. I've had it for about 6 months now. The processor is terrible. very slow and difficult to make quick calls. I hope the SIII is better but waiting for it to come down in price. Not a fan of the Aviator.
Pros: Wi-fi capable
Cons: Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 118 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good phone!!!

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
from Monroe, WI
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am so disappointed with this phone!!!! Hands down the worst phone I have ever had...and I have had a lot of phones. I purchased with hopes of using it to keep track of business appointments and for internet use at my office as well. It is slow....freezes a lot.....battery life is poor and although it takes great pictures, the recovery time between photos is very long. I am getting rid of the phone and praying for better luck next time!
Pros: Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 119 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst 4G phone

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband and I have been thru 6 Aviators so far and we are done with it. Would not recommend to anyone!
Pros: Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 120 for Samsung Galaxy S® Aviator™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Solid Smartphone

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using the Aviator for about 6 months now and am completely satisfied with this phone. There is plenty of memory for my needs, the battery life is fine, display is great, camera is much better the expected. This phone does everything I expect it to do and then some.
I did have it freeze up a couple times when I was using the ballistic case. But when I took the case off, the problem went away. (heat related?) I went with a different case and haven't had a freeze up since.
Pros: Speaker, Menus, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable, display
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular