U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop All Phones or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer reviews for Samsung Samsung Freeform® 4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at U.S. Cellular.

Samsung Samsung Freeform® 4

Applicable Shared Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.$20 or $50 act. fee may apply.Applicable Shared Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. applies.Pick up the Samsung Freeform 4 and take total control of messaging with the full QWERTY keyboard. Enjoy preloaded games, apps and a user-friendly web browser. Use the built-in camera to capture and share picture and video messages in an instant. With the Freeform 4, communicate your way, every day.
Overall rating:
3.113 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(151 reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 151 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
24
1 Star
34
84 out of 151(56%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Samsung Freeform® 4
Review 1 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good keyboard

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had this phone for 7 days. Took it back, I don't recommend it at all. NOT impressed with this phone. You have to save all your messages or don't save. It won't save them for you as other phones I've had did save them automatically.
The phone will NOT unlock like it is suppose to either.
Too many problems with this phone!!
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Battery Life
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product has good batterie life but nothing else.

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
from Ottumwa, IA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is the second phone I have had. When i first switched i really liked the bigger screen but I soon learned that this was the worst phone I have ever purchased. It shuts off by itself, fails to send messages, and some of the keys are delayed and I have only had the phone for approximately 6 months. This is the worst thing samsung has ever come out with. Although the batterie life is good at the start, it dwindles down over time. I am currently having to restart my phone at least once a day so I know my messages will send.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth the money I paid

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from wisconsin
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
small keys, that are hard to push even with a small hand. from the first day I had it people I called complained that I sounded like I was in echo chamber. even on speaker. Its just a crummy phone. dont waste your money.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Incredibly irritating phone

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer avatar
from Bellingham, WA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is simply awful. The keys stick, leaving me with a frustrating texting experience. For example, the letter B often appears at the end of the word, even when typed correctly. "That was the best" comes out, "That was the estb." I always have to be wary of editing my texts because of that. Also, the unlocking feature is inconsistent. I have pocket dialed many more people than I ever have because it doesn't lock fast enough. Every time I unlock it, there is a delay of about 1.5-2 seconds before it shows the main screen. Technology that doesn't work efficiently is a major pet peeve of mine, so I'd recommend that you steer clear of this phone. Perhaps my phone is a lemon, but I wouldn't risk committing to any amount of time with this device.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Limited Memory, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good phone

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from iowa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
there is a delay with the keys, no zoom for the camera, and the pictures are small when being reviewed. should have kept my lg banter.
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Small Keys, camera
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAD PHONE

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from rocky mount,nc
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
this phone is small and you can do nothing with it.
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes, screen
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not user friendly

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Small keyboard, unlock feature is frustrating sometimes it takes several tries to unlock
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Small Keys, Freezes, unlocking
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

8 weeks and dead

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I owned this phone for 8 weeks and had normal use. I took a call and everything was normal. 30 minutes later the display no longer worked.
Cons: Small Keys, display
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
from Wisconsin
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this phone for almost a year now and I can't wait until I can get a new phone. I have had many problems with this one. It freezes up, the ads are really annoying, the buttons are tiny and hard to press. My 'b' button doesn't work anymore and hasn't for awhile. It turns off randomly and the screen gets brighter at other times. The memory is not very good and I have to constantly delete pictures to make room for new ones.
Overall I am very unhappy with this phone.
Pros: Speaker, Menus, Battery Life
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I'm not too happy with this product..

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
from McGregor, IA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Even before I received this phone my friends told me not to get it. I have only had this phone for about two weeks or so and these are all of the things that have happened since then. The phone freezes quite a bit. My screens flashes brighter at times. The phone is very slow, messes up my text messages more often than not. I don't feel as if it was made to last. It feels too light and cheap. It is hard to text on because the buttons are so little and sectioned out so-to-speak. I dislike how the 'OK' button is so small and hard to get to.. I find myself hitting the 'up' or 'down' keys instead of the 'OK' key.. The couple of think I do like about the phone is the double picture feature- picture for the lock screen and a different one for the background. The battery life does last a while; I don't have to charge it every night. The fact that you can change the font color and the theme color. This phone, like every phone, has it good and bad.. But this phone, I feel, has a few more bad than good..
Pros: Menus, Battery Life
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not the best

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
The buttons are very small, I'm constantly hitting the wrong keys and I have small fingers. To view your pictures the screen is quite small and I am unable to zoom in on them. It constantly says memory card inserted then it will say memory card not inserted when it is. Would not recommend this phone.
Pros: Speaker, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
from WI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The only good thing about this phone is the battery life.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Freezes, awful camera, runs slow all the time
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I do NOT recommend this phone

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
from Lynchburg ,VA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I do NOT recommend this phone had nothing but problems from day one
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Operating System, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes, speakers are no good
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Phone

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer avatar
from Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I own this phone and I am not very happy with it. It will freeze a lot. When I send picture messages and then cancel then, it will be totally frozen and then I have to take out the battery and put it back in... It's a lot of work. I have had this phone for a year already and 5 buttons have already came off. I would never recomend this phone to anyone, it has terroble memory life and freezes A LOT!
Pros: Battery Life, Tools
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The worst phone ever

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer avatar
from Madison, WI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have never had a phone this bad, it turns off by itself, battery doesn't last long, hard to unlock, and drops calls
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible...

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer avatar
from Dubuque, IA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is the worst phone I have ever owned. It freezes all of the time. When I try to text, the screen will freeze and all of the letters I typed in will all pop up at once and they're all mixed up. For just making phone calls, this phone works fine. If you plan on texting, do NOT get this phone.
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer avatar
from North California
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had this phone for several months and it has gotten progressively worse. I had an LG Saber, which worked very well until the keys began to double-strike. This phone looked and felt similar at first. Once I got it and began to use it, I found it to be clumsy in its operating system - not easy to use and set up. The camera is nice, but the display is very small for pictures. The audio is good, but it has trouble switching to my Bluetooth when a call comes in. And if it is not on the home screen,it will not respond to the Bluetooth. The alarm function quit functioning correctly, some not even going off at all. Resetting the phone temporarily fixed some of the problems, but they came right back. This was my first Samsung phone, and I hesitate to buy another, as I'm not too confident about their quality. The LG worked MUCH better for me. In fact, I still keep it for its alarm, even though it is not activated.
Pros: Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is terrible. It randomly freezes while texting and scrolling through the phone. Pictures appear the size of a dime and the camera only works about half the time. When the camera does work and you try to send a picture it will sometimes freeze or be unable to send because the file size is to big. Don't get this phone!!!!!
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I do not like this phone

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
from Maine
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't like this phone because it shuts of randomly and is bad at sending text messages. (as in if your sending a text and you receive another it would finish sending the other message and you must go back and resend it. and you can not look at an incoming text while texting or it will go in to drafts) The pictures are very small when looking at them and the camera is not that good. I find the keyboard hard to text on and over all i don't like it. on the other hand it gets good service and wont break if it drops.
Pros: Durable, Battery Life
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes, camera quality, shuts off randomly
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Freeform® 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst phone I've ever had.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
from Bradford, ME
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Well first of all the "b" and the "e" glitch a lot. When I text for example 'because" the "b" and the "e" will switch! Then the "p" button doesn't work right anymore. I do not know why this phone does this. I've been easy with it. just UGH!
Pros: Durable, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular