U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop All Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Samsung Chrono™ 2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at U.S. Cellular.

Samsung Chrono™ 2

New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee apply.$20 or $50 act. fee may apply.New 2 yr. agmt. may apply. $35 act. fee required.Flip open the Samsung Chrono 2 and access phone features quickly and easily using the four-way navigational keypad and softkeys. Make connections with your circle of friends through speedy text and picture messaging. Have fun in your spare time with quick access to games and a user-friendly web browser, and capture and share your favorite moments in seconds using the upgraded built-in camera.
Overall rating:
2.213 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
15
1 Star
29
17 out of 61(28%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Review 41 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hard to open, ring tones dull, texting difficult; going back to old Samsung

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
from Strawberry Plains TN
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Is US Cellular trying to force us to stop using flip phones? For us, this is the best style. We don't need or want a 'smart' phone or an open face style.
The only other flip phone is the military version. If the military uses ones, don't you think civilians would like a good flip phone still available?
Our previous 2 flip phones were great; why did you change?
This one is hard to open, the ring tones are dull sounding and therefore hard to hear, and texting is a pain. We don't text all the time- we still talk to people- but when texting on this one, it double types the letters a lot!
We're going back to our old phone.
Pros: display
Cons: hard to open, double types letters, dull ring tones
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wost cheap phone I ever owned.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
from Wisconsin
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am a fan of no frills phones, just make voice calls for me and do it well is all I ask. This phone lasted 3 weeks past warrenty. I did not find the navigation on this phone intuitive at all, I turned my old LG wine back on and actually was much happier. In my opinion US cellular should not even offer this piece of junk as an option.
Pros: none
Cons: Full Navigation, Durability, Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

flip phone

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had an LG which accidentally went into a lake along with me! I loved that phone and hated to have to replace it. My new phone is the only flip phone available. It is very hard to hear it ringing and the texting feature is terrible -- can't keep up.. I am not happy and do not recommend this phone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible!!!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
from brodhead, wi
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lost my LG, which I loved, and this is the only flip phone US Cellular had to replace my LG, and it's terrible!!! Hard to flip open, can't hear it ringing very well, or very long. Display is small and hard to read. When texting it doesn't seem to keep up, you have to enter the letters slowly. Taking it back to get something else-would NOT recommend this!!!
Cons: Volume Level, Operating System, Durability, flipping open
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNK

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
from iowa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Phone goes dead in 6 hours. Cant hear ring tones. Flip open and it take 5 to 10 seconds for screen to light up. Husband doesnt need all the extras and data but he needs reliable phone for his on call job! This is not the phone.
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good phone

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
not many choices for flip phone. the front display is to dark and it does not flip open easy, not recent call button or contact button on keypad, it does have a good inside display screen
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, hard to open
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too hard to flip open and low volume

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
from Elkhorn, WI
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Traded in old flip LG for this one - not happy. Will be taking it back and getting a different phone. Not easy to flip - keep fumbling with it.
Cons: Volume Level, ease of use
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For basic phone calls

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
from Junction City Ks
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not into accessing internet or sending photos although this one does take photos, they are kind of small, but for sound quality and reception, easy to see the numbers.. it is wonderful for those of us who just want a phone to make and recieve phone calls.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst phone ever

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
from NE Iowa - Gods Country
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Upgraded from my LG Wine to this terrible phone. Could not find one thing I liked about this phone. On a scale of 1 to 5 I would give it a ZERO! Took it back after 7 days and reactivated my LG - best phone I ever had. Phone selection for older folks from US Cell is almost non existent. Seriously considering switching provider.
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Full Navigation, Durability, Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great basic phone; manual needs to be updated

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
from Madison, WI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received my Chrono 2 on 7/31/2012, but so far I really like it. Very simple to set up and use. The only drawback I've had so far is that the owner's manual and quick start guide do not show where the microSD card slot is, and it wasn't readily obvious that it's next to the camera button, UNDERNEATH the battery cover. So far that's my only complaint.
Pros: Ease of Use, microsd slot
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needed to replace the LG due to batteries not available anymore

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer avatar
from Wisconsin
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
We got this phone a couple of weeks ago and I can't say I'm real impressed with it. My husband likes it and it's for him but the ring tones are so soft that you can't hardly hear them other than for a couple of them. The camera pics are really small. Over all the phone isn't too bad. I don't think I'll get this one for myself but for what he does with a phone it's ok. He doesn't text but I have on it and it is fair. My LG is better. To bad they got rid of a good phone.
Pros: Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use
Cons: Volume Level, Small Keys
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease of use of this phone

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
from versailles, Missouri
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this phone for my husband with my belief points, because he needed a phone that is user friendly. It is a very good phone, and he really likes it. I can't wait till I can exchange for a new phone, because this is the one that I want also,
Pros: Games, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable, Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus
Cons: no cons
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Samsung is dead last

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
from Beaver Dam, WI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Both my sister and I had LG's and thought we would get a new phone. Found out that US doesn't carry LG's anymore. This phone was hard to open, hard to hear and couldn't hear ring tone. We both took our phones back and went back to our old LG's. US Cellular missed the mark on this on. This wasn't the first Samsung phone that I had and I didn't like that one either. You would think I would have learned the first time.
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE. YOU WILL TAKE IT BACK!
Cons: Volume Level
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth bringing home.

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
from Kirksville, MO
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Got this phone for my husband. Don't need the data phones since all we want a phone for is to talk. It is difficult to open and the sound quality is poor. Going to a different phone company very soon due to the poor selection of US Cellular phones.
Cons: Volume Level, Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed...miss my LG

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
from Forest Park IL
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had an LG no longer sold, had to settle for this one. It does not come close to the ease of use of the LG. Cannot make custom menu with tools I frequently use, i.e. alarm, tip calculator, calculator, messages, and more. Speaker is easy to put on but cannot be turned off. Menu cannot be put into list mode instead of icons. Also, keys and phone itselt is not as large at the LG.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a "first" phone !

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer avatar
from Mountain View,Missouri
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this for myself and my teenage son.We have had no issues with battery or freezing and we didnt have to purchase a "data plan".He just likes to text his friends and can easily do this as well as operate it with ease (new phone user).I on the other hand have come back to my old stand by...a great little flip phone that is trust-worthy and dependable..as allways!The Samsung Chrono 2 is just that!
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, stylish design
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

>:(

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
i just got this phone after my samsung gloss because i dont text as much as i did and I dont like it, i hate the flip it is bulky and everything about it is terrible minus battery life. thats pretty good. so i am happy i kept my samsung gloss and i will get it reactivated(:
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
little lady
ia
great phone for price
Posted November 1, 2013
Have never had a problem with this phone, easy to use.
Best of all it is one touch voice activated. Would highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 58 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

samsung

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
from ia
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
great phone easy to use and and aslo like that you can have a sd card .
Pros: Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Operation

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
from Chicago, IL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
My LG was good but this is better. It truly is intuitive and opening the flip phone is way easier than my LG. The back is textured so even in the middle of the night you instantly know it's orientation. Time will tell if it holds up but so far so good. I like it!
Pros: Menus, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Samsung Chrono™ 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great basic phone!

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer avatar
from Milwaukee
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone has everything your really need and some extra features the Envoy didn't have. I was afraid when I heard they no longer had the Envoy but my family if very pleased with this one. My elderly parents were able to set it up and use it right away.
Pros: Ease of Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular