U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop Android Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Motorola Motorola Defy™ XT

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at U.S. Cellular.

Motorola Motorola Defy™ XT

Applicable Shared Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Prepaid Smartphone Data Plan required. $20 or $50 act. fee may apply.Applicable Shared Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. applies.The MOTOROLA DEFY XT is ready for whatever life throws your way. It's dustproof and water resistant, with a Corning® Gorilla® Glass display that resists scuffs and scratches. Use the webcam in front for video chat, or the 5 MP camera with auto-focus, LED flash and digital zoom for great pictures and videos you can easily save or share. The customizable activity dashboards offer functionality with access to an integrated compass, pedometer, music player and weather. Visuals won't disappoint either, with an ample 3.7" capacitive touchscreen display, perfect for videos and picture viewing.
Overall rating:
3.048 / 5
3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
8
1 Star
9
22 out of 42(52%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Motorola Defy™ XT
Review 1 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HORRIBLE

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
from Burlington, WI 53105, USA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
So not worth your penny. The apps started acting up and freezing ONE HOUR after i left the store, not exaggerating.
Pros: Durable, Menus
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very bad smart phone

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
from Columbus, Ne
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is more like a dumb phone as apposed to a smart phone. It freezes up all the time. It has little to no storage. Can't even update all the apps that are on the phone because there isn't enough room. Have an sd card in phone and can't put all apps on sd card. Freezes up on a lot of apps. Very slow processor. Not a good smart phone all around. Also calls are hard to hear even with the volume turned all the way up.
Pros: Durable, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Operating System, Freezes, camera/video quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HORRIBLE

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Horrible had for two months dropped on the ground shattered the screen
Pros: Good For Texting, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing reception and battery life.

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Elkins, WV
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I replaced a Motorola Quantico with the Defy, I was extremely disappointed with both the reception and battery life of the Defy compared to the Motorola it replaced. It is tough, though. After a year of dissatisfaction I left it on my tool box and lost it in a parking lot. When I returned and found it the screen wasn't even cracked, despite having tire tracks on the back!
Pros: Durable, Ease of Use
Cons: Battery Life, reception
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Durable

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you're one of those Android users who gets water on their phone's screen, then this Motorola Defy XT will withstand it. It's water and dust proof, so, if you get water or dirt on the phone, it can be wiped off with a paper towel or cloth and it will still work. On the negative side, the battery drains quickly if you use it very often. Other than that, I recommend this phone because it's water and dust proof.
Pros: Durable, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I recommend

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from Beaufort, SC, USA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hereby absolutely recommen this product. I need it soon as possible
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

always have a charger and be ready to wait

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
I hate this phone , i have had it for almost a year and i liked it at first but then after a couple months the battery dies quickly, screen is slow, screen freezes all the time and i have to pull the battery and on top of that, you cant download apps straight to the sd card, and there is very little space on the phone to put the apps
Pros: Durable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Could be better but works

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
from Concordia KS
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm around horses, water, & other things that are hard on electronics. This phone was great when I first got it, but the very first time I dropped it in the dirt, the back came right off. Now if the speaker in the back gets moisture in it, it sounds horrible until it dries.
Pros: Good For Texting, Menus, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hands down the worst phone I have ever had.

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
easily the worst phone I have ever had. I never have service, it dies quickly, and it often powers down for no reason. I have to almost carry a charger with me at all times. I wouldn't recommend this phone to any one. it worked great for the first few months, but now I've had it for almost a year and I am extremly disapointed with the phone. The only good thing about it is the durability. I am a farm girl/cowgirl, and this phone can withstand dirt, mud, water, even my horse stepped on it and it wasn't affected much! (just a few scratches to the screen) It's only good if you need something durable. if you want quality, don't get this phone.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This phone is terrible!

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from Auburn, Maine
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
I wish I would have read all the feedback before purchasing this phone. I've had so much trouble with it. The battery does not last. I have to charge it 2X a day. The phone gets really hot and I have to remove the battery and put it back in. Every month it says I've exceeded my data plan which isn't right. It says youtube is always running and I don't even use youtube. I've had to have it factory reset which is a pain considering I have to wait at the store for an hour to have it done. It won't let me remove the youtube app so each month I'm getting an additional charge for data I didn't even use! Plus, pictures do not come out good at all.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Operating System, Freezes, camera/video quality, data usage not correct
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

phone is junk

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from snyder ok
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
phone freezes all the time i have had to charge the battery so much i have had the charger port reinstalled twice on the phone the screens are slow and jerky when trying to scroll between screens. overall the worst phone i have ever owned
Pros: Durable, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is the WORST phone

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer avatar
from Knoxville, TN
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Horrible, horrible phone. Freezes, low memory (not all apps can go to SD card), won't stay charged. You name it, it's bad.
Pros: it's a phone
Cons: everything else
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for the outdoorsman

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from maine
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had mine for a year great phone. Just wish they would update os
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This phone is sooooo slow

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
from Maine
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for 3 months and it is horrible!!!! It freezes constantly. It will go back for no reason. I have to restart this phone several times a day. It will just freeze and not let you answer it or call and you have to restart it. I keep the internet off unless I am using it and the battery still needs to be charged several times a day. I do NOT recommend this phone. It also has nothing for memory on the phone and some of the apps cant be moved over to the sd card so it is always telling me it lacks memory and I have tried to delete everything but bare bones. I hate this phone.
Pros: Durable, Ease of Use
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product didn't last long

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
from Dubuque, Iowa
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is not a good phone to have. The battery life was very short. I had to charge it 2-3 times a day. I have only had this phone since Feburary so just over 4 months. A phone should last longer than that. The charging port actually came out on the charger so now this phone will no longer be able to charge. I liked the old motorola's so now I'm switching back to an LG. Hoping to have better luck.
Pros: Durable, Ease of Use
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not work out...

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
from Central Wisconsin
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Got the Defy back in January and it was toast by March. Was working outside during wet weather and the screen stopped responding. Somehow moisture worked its way into my pocketed "water and dust resistant" phone and it became scrap. I never became comfortable with it... poor battery life, difficulty hearing it ring and hearing while speaking, touchy buttons, etc. It had replaced a 2 yr old Motorola Quantico that was one of the best phones I ever had. Wish they still made a good quality flip phone with some internet access. I would not recommend the Defy.
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Durability, Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

motorola defy

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
from calera oklahoma
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Love this phone. it is very easy to use and easy to talk on.
very strong and dependible.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst phone ever

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from iowa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst phone I've ever had. Old Motorolas used to be good. This one is not. Have missed many calls because it switches to silent mode without knowing it. Gets hot. Small print. Not a good phone at all. Wish they made more flip phones to choose from. Don't really need a smart phone.
Pros: Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Battery Life, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good phone

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
from portland, maine
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this phoone. Its very easy to use and i love all the features. The only thing i didnt like was when i tryed to play games it would freeze up.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, does not do games very well
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola Defy™ XT
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor phone

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from Illinois
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The storage space is horrible and the screen does not work very well. You have to push very hard on the screen. Not very user friendly.
Pros: Battery Life, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular