U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop Android Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Huawei Huawei Ascend® Y

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at U.S. Cellular.

Huawei Huawei Ascend® Y

Applicable Shared Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Prepaid Smartphone Data Plan required. $20 or $50 act. fee may apply.Applicable Shared Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. applies.The Huawei Ascend Y is an easy to use Android-powered Smartphone. It sports a 3.5" HVGA capacitive touchscreen display and a 3.2 MP fixed-focus camera for photos or videos, which you can store along with your music and games on the included 2GB microSD card. It offers unlimited phonebook entries and provides access to Google mail, Google applications (Talk, Maps, Calendar, and more), YouTube and Google Play. The Huawei Ascend Y also features onboard GPS Navigation, Bluetooth and Wi-Fi capabilities.
Overall rating:
1.471 / 5
1.5
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
11
1 Star
36
4 out of 51(8%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Huawei Ascend® Y
Review 1 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good at all!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
from .....................
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone freezes all the time. It does not have enough storage and if a game or app is "too big" for the phone it shuts me out of it. It wont let me download some apps or games either. The only thing good about it for me is the battery life and that is because I am never on. I'm never on it because it makes me so mad. It has internet on it but for the internet is so slow. About 6 months after I got the phone, it cracked and ever since then it cracks even more when you barley touch it! I loved this phone when I first got it but at least 2 months after, I hated it.
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Limited Memory, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer avatar
from Oregon
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone barely functions as a phone. Count on a "low memory" notice every time you turn it on. Slow, sluggish, and frequently, when calling, it will dial the LAST number you called. US Cellular should pay consumers to use this phone.
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful phone

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer avatar
from Knoxville, TN
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is the worst phone I have ever had in my life! And I've had a few in the last 20 yrs. It is constantly freezing up. The apps don't work most of the time. The alarm doesn't work most of the time. I've been late to work a couple of times because my alarm didn't go off like it was supposed to even though the phone was charged up and should have been working fine. Half of the time the touchscreen doesn't work. None of the apps that should connect to Facebook connect. You either get an error message or the interminable spinning wheel forever and ever. As soon as I get the money to get a new phone, this one is going in the trash! I hate it!
Pros: Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Freezes, everything
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Qualiity

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone as my first smart phone and boy did I make a mistake. Very poor battery life, and is constantly freezing. STAY AWAY
Pros: Good For Texting, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dont get it

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
from Canton, IL 61520, USA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
i had that phone a month and it gave me all kinds of problems, it froze all the time, deleted all my contacts and half my pictures.
Pros: Good For Texting
Cons: Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Phone ever

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone i have ever used i would not give it to my kids to use slow no memory only handle one or two apps. do not get this phone you will not be happy a fake kiddy phone would be better....
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, bad phone
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This phone sucks

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from holdrege
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone brand new as a loaner phone while my phone is being repaired and it is the worst phone i have ever had .there is not enough memory and it force closes almost every app i go into if i even get them to open . .
Pros: Wi-fi capable
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Little Memory

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not enough internal memory for apps, so, you can't have many apps downloaded to the phone.
Pros: Speaker, Good For Texting
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product shuts you off of everything

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
from Lewisburg, WV
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
the phone shuts you off of every app. it works for a while after you buy it but then it starts to slowly stop working.
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Limited Memory, Durability, Freezes, wi-fi stops working
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problems all the time

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone was only great for a little while before it started freezing, the low memory was always appearing and the phone is always turning itself on and off. Even for a penny, it is not worth it.
Pros: Speaker, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returned after 2 weeks. Not good

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
from NC
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pros - Nice big screen for a cheap phone
Keys on screen are good size, easy to text
Touch Screen, Volume for calls is good
CONS- Freezes everyday, all day. Apps take forever to load, only to then give an error message. Calculator doesn't load, calendar doesn't load. Screen freezes. Keyboard disappears when trying to text or make a call. Sometime it took me 3-4 tries to send a text or make a phonecall. Many times, I had to remove the battery to "reset" the phone so it would work. After 2 weeks, I took it back to the store and they told me that the 2 apps I downloaded (facebook and angry birds) are "too powerful" for this phone. The memory on this phone is too low to accommodate such large apps and this is why the phone keeps freezing and giving error messages. Even when using the SD card, the phone doesn't work because of the apps I downloaded.
Pros: Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality, Speaker, Good For Texting
Cons: Freezes, Limited Memory
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORSE PRODUCT EVER!!!!!

PostedJune 27, 2013
Customer avatar
from North Carolina
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone for LESS than a year and during this time, it has been reset FOUR times at the store. Can not upgrade until 2014 and Im ready to go back to not even having a cell phone bc this phone is TERRIBLE! Freezes, constantly resetting itself, can't go online for more than 5 minutes without the page shutting down and now I cant save any pictures to my SD card. This phone and ALL Huawei products need to be OFF the market!
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Full Navigation, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes, worthless
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

product freezes all the time

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from Greenville, North Carolina
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
the huawei ascend y freezes all the time i have to restart the phone at least 4 times a day. The display is horrible as in very dark unable to see. Slow, FORCE CLOSES EVERYTHING.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this phone

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone worked great for the first couple of months. Then I kept getting "Low on Space" message. It didn't matter how many apps, messages, pictures I deleted I still get the "Low on Space" message. Which also means, the very few apps (3 to be exact) that I downloaded run very slowly and any multimedia message I receive I can't download. Also the phone camera doesn't have a flash so the pictures aren't very good.
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst phone on the planet.

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
from Madison, WI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Each time I select something on my phone, it literally takes 30-45 seconds for the phone to pull it up. That is including the dialer and text message box. Good thing I haven't had to call 911.
Pros: Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This phone is worthless!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I haven't even had this phone for even a month and in that month my screen freezes and nothing works on it. I set it down not hard today but the screen refuses to turn on now! NOT HAPPY with this phone!!
Cons: Freezes, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is the worst!

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible Phone, would not recommend anyone to purchase
Cons: Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst possible brand and product ever

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from Littleton, NH
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Constantly running out of memory and many apps cannot be updated due to this. Many apps cannot be moved from phone to SD card to help with storage issues. There have been times I've had plenty of internal memory left and it will tell me I have low storage space. DO NOT GET THIS BRAND AS A STARTER PHONE.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad phone

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
from Oklahoma
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
The phone was fine for about a month then it started to get slow and just progressed from there. After about six months it started freezing and now I can't even use the phone because the screen is frozen saying I'm holding my finger on it. The battery life is very short lived if you plan on doing more on it besides making a couple calls and a few texts. Before it quit, I had to try calling three or four times before it would even send the call out. Even on texts it would say they sent and it wouldn't. It also would kick you out of your apps at horrible times or not even open them sometimes. And the camera quit for no reason too.
Pros: Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Huawei Ascend® Y
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Phone is possessed

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone was my first smart phone. Have had for 1.5 yrs. Can't wait to upgrade. It randomly dials people from my call list.... I have to constantly apologize to friends, family and clients. I'm suddenly connected to someone I didn't dial. Freezes... Takes forever to send a call... Double texts constantly. Battery life stinks. Tells me my text memory is full when i've deleted all... I could go on and on. I will smash this phone with a hammer as soon as i can. Do not make this mistake.
Pros: size
Cons: Freezes, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability, too durable. wish it would die
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular