U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop All Phones or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer reviews for LG LG Freedom™

LG LG Freedom™

After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Shared Connect Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $40 act. fee applies.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Simple Connect Plan required. $40 act. fee applies.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $40 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Connect Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. applies.Messaging is quick and easy with the LG Freedom. With a flick of the finger to the left or right on the home screen, you can text your favorite contacts or read your latest conversations with bubble-threaded messaging, all viewable on the 3.0" touchscreen. The side-sliding QWERTY keyboard is compact and convenient for texting, but the Freedom is more than just a messaging handset. Enjoy music wirelessly with the Freedom's stereo Bluetooth capabilities and music player, and capture every moment with the 2.0 MP camera.
Overall rating:
2.759 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
17
1 Star
30
38 out of 87(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
155 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer reviews for LG Freedom™
Review 1 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love this phone

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer avatar
from willits, ca
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life starts out great but like all batteries, it started dying quicker, but still lasting me 2 days in the end. I am not a nice person to phones and this phone lasted through much abuse. Even after I broke the touch screen, I still found a way to use the touch screen and do much without it. This phone was great and I do dearly miss it. Qwerty board is nice and durable. Hate the camera but it's perfect for a basic phone. Froze only a few times
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Software Bugs
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Keeps restarting- not recommended!

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have this phone and a week ago it started doing a cute little thing where it restarts constantly. Not just every once in a while. No, I'm talking non-stop turning itself off and on again. I can't even access the phone at this point. The phone was mostly good until this (when you text it sometimes repeats a letter three or four times) but this ruined the entire experience.
Cons: Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst phone I've had yet

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
from Mount Vernon, IA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
it pocket dials constantly, will turn off and on while holding in hand without pushing a button. It pocket dialed so many times one of my closest friends asked me to delete her contact
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Always hanging up on me

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
from Northern Maine
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I one of those people that has always used the LG phone for its dependability. This phone was a problem from day one. Whenever I called someone and the screen went blank before you hit a key and then you tried to either touch the screen or hit the screen off your face the phone would automatically end the call. I tried several ways of fixing this dilemma. None of them worked. These phones are also not built to be top of the line internet devices and i had troubles with sending picture messages. Which is fine I did not desire that. I simply like QWERTY keyboard, but I was extremely disappointed with this version of the phone.
Pros: Good For Texting, Menus, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Volume Level, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Formerly a good phone now downgraded

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
from Richfield, WI
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have almost always used LG phones and have had very little issues with them. They were reliable, durable, and generally easy to use. The last phones I bought were the LG Banter which is the earlier version of this phone. I loved the first one I got so much that that I bought 2 more while they were still available. Sadly, I wore them out or broke them. So I saw the LG Freedom and thought it would be following in in the line of good products. I was SO wrong! I am on my 3rd in just over a month because the phone keeps rebooting itself randomly. The keyboard is extremely hard to see in anything but a perfect light situation. Some of the keys are hard to press and will double press often. There is frequently static on the calls that I don't get from my last remaining working Banter that is connected on another line. It opens from the other direction than the Banter did. If I don't use a headset with the phone the touchy screen hangs up on people all the time by touching my face. In short, it seems that they took everything that was good from the Banter and removed it for the Freedom. This is absolutely the worst LG product I have ever had the misfortune to own. And since LG apparently doesn't make any other phone of this particular type I am very likely never to buy another one of their phones again unless they come up with a WORKING replacement for this type.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes, numerous issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from wisconson,wi
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
i love this phone its nothing fancy its easy to use i love i dont want to ever get rid of it i love it:) :D
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This phone is great when it works. Cycles off without warning. When texting letters double print frequently requiring many corrections.

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from waterloo ,iowa
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is great when it works. Cycles off without warning. DOuble prints letters during texting requiring frequent corrections. 8 months old and had softwear problem, then at 13 months it fried completely. No one will stand behind it. If you like to trow money away then this phone is for you. Otherwise steer clear.
Pros: Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissapointing

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wrote a review for this phone awhile ago, but now that I've had for a long time, I realized it is a terrible product. It freezes ALL the time. It is VERY sensitve, it will hang up if you touch your face to the screen and it will just randomly turn on and off. The keys are too small. If the phone freezes it will make you restart it. And it constantly freezes if you go to the message screen. I do not reccomend this product at all.
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just say no...

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The worst phones ever...and I bought two! got them for my children, both have dialed random people and froze up. My son's phone gave out before my daughter's and hers just recently gave out.
Cons: Limited Memory, Durability, Freezes, everything!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I expected better

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
It is easy enough to use but there are a few problems. It makes random calls while its just sitting there, not being touched. When texting you press a key and it will read that you pressed it multiple times, at random times while texting.
Pros: Menus, Tools, Ease of Use
Cons: Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wouldn't recommend this phone at all

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
from Pearl City, Il
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen Keeps freezing doesn't always do what I want it to shuts down randomly sometimes overall this is not a phone I would recommend at all one bit.
Pros: Speaker, Good For Texting, Tools
Cons: Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I do not like this product at all

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from California
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The screen stopped working. It will not let me touch the screen when the slider is out or after I put hte slider back in. When I try to go to messages in freezes on the loading page until I hold the off button. It will not let me scroll up and down or left and right. The main screen will not let me in. Sometimes it will shut off by itself. It just gets worse and worse by each day and now my screen has totally stopped working.
Other things not having to do with the phone being broken: It only allows you to hae 400 messages at once and one you hit 320 a screen pops up and tells you what percent of your message box is full.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not a bad little phone

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
from SW
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have always used a flip phone, but I wanted a phone I could have some data on. Though for some reason they are removing some of the easy edge items. I like the slide out QWERTY keyboard...it is a little small but after a few days I got the hang of it. I don't really connect to the internet much though. It is a little sensitive but I think it will work. The price was good and with a little work I could really like this phone. The camera takes so so pictures. I use it mostly for texting and I like that feature.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Small Keys
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the best phone out there.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from Polo,IL
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery life is bad, video and photo quality is horrid. Easy to use use, but the touch screen will go out not too long after owning it.
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Operating System, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good phone

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
from Madison, Wi
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not a smart phone user so the Freedon does everything I want it to do.LG has always had good send and receive and the Freedom fits right in there
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use
Cons: Small Keys
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its fine i guess

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
from East Moline, IL
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got this phone for my birthday. I was really excited when I got it. But a few days later I was disappointed. The screen froze a lot. The touch screen is VERY sensitive. If you throw it on your bed it will turn in and go to your messages or something. And it doesn't give you a lot of space for messages. It tells you to delete them around 200. I guess its okay but some of the features are disappointing.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Limited Memory, Software Bugs, Freezes, sensitive touch screen
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

bad phone DO NOT buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
from council bluffs, IA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
while its great for texting and easy to use i always freezes and crashes and all of my images and music have been deleted
Pros: Durable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes, phone crashes, image loss, music loss
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst lg product ever

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Died after 15 months into a 2 year contract. You're screwed if you get this phone. Have two and second one is going down also. DO NOT THINK ABOUT IT !!!!
Pros: Menus, Battery Life, Tools
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this phone. The touchscreen feature is terrible for making calls

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from North English, IA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not buy this phone. The touchscreen feature unlocks while making calls. I am constantly hanging up on people because the screen unlocks while I am talking. I've tried holding it up against my ear and tried holding it out so it doesn't touch. Neither same to make a difference.
Pros: Good For Texting, Ease of Use
Cons: Volume Level, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good phone while it lasts

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had my phone for 2 weeks and it shut off on its own and then i went to turn it back on and it starts to and goes to the US Cellular screen and then shuts off and keeps doing that till you take the battery out. But its a good phone if you only need one for 2 weeks and then want to get a new one.
Cons: Software Bugs, Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular