U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop All Phones or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer reviews for LG LG Freedom™

LG LG Freedom™

Applicable Shared Connect Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Simple Connect Plan required. $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Connect Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. applies.Messaging is quick and easy with the LG Freedom. With a flick of the finger to the left or right on the home screen, you can text your favorite contacts or read your latest conversations with bubble-threaded messaging, all viewable on the 3.0" touchscreen. The side-sliding QWERTY keyboard is compact and convenient for texting, but the Freedom is more than just a messaging handset. Enjoy music wirelessly with the Freedom's stereo Bluetooth capabilities and music player, and capture every moment with the 2.0 MP camera.
Overall rating:
2.823 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
15
1 Star
26
36 out of 79(46%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
141 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer reviews for LG Freedom™
Review 1 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissapointing

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wrote a review for this phone awhile ago, but now that I've had for a long time, I realized it is a terrible product. It freezes ALL the time. It is VERY sensitve, it will hang up if you touch your face to the screen and it will just randomly turn on and off. The keys are too small. If the phone freezes it will make you restart it. And it constantly freezes if you go to the message screen. I do not reccomend this product at all.
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just say no...

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The worst phones ever...and I bought two! got them for my children, both have dialed random people and froze up. My son's phone gave out before my daughter's and hers just recently gave out.
Cons: Limited Memory, Durability, Freezes, everything!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I expected better

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
It is easy enough to use but there are a few problems. It makes random calls while its just sitting there, not being touched. When texting you press a key and it will read that you pressed it multiple times, at random times while texting.
Pros: Menus, Tools, Ease of Use
Cons: Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wouldn't recommend this phone at all

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
from Pearl City, Il
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen Keeps freezing doesn't always do what I want it to shuts down randomly sometimes overall this is not a phone I would recommend at all one bit.
Pros: Speaker, Good For Texting, Tools
Cons: Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I do not like this product at all

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from California
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The screen stopped working. It will not let me touch the screen when the slider is out or after I put hte slider back in. When I try to go to messages in freezes on the loading page until I hold the off button. It will not let me scroll up and down or left and right. The main screen will not let me in. Sometimes it will shut off by itself. It just gets worse and worse by each day and now my screen has totally stopped working.
Other things not having to do with the phone being broken: It only allows you to hae 400 messages at once and one you hit 320 a screen pops up and tells you what percent of your message box is full.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not a bad little phone

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
from SW
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have always used a flip phone, but I wanted a phone I could have some data on. Though for some reason they are removing some of the easy edge items. I like the slide out QWERTY keyboard...it is a little small but after a few days I got the hang of it. I don't really connect to the internet much though. It is a little sensitive but I think it will work. The price was good and with a little work I could really like this phone. The camera takes so so pictures. I use it mostly for texting and I like that feature.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Small Keys
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the best phone out there.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from Polo,IL
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery life is bad, video and photo quality is horrid. Easy to use use, but the touch screen will go out not too long after owning it.
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Operating System, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good phone

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
from Madison, Wi
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not a smart phone user so the Freedon does everything I want it to do.LG has always had good send and receive and the Freedom fits right in there
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use
Cons: Small Keys
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its fine i guess

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
from East Moline, IL
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got this phone for my birthday. I was really excited when I got it. But a few days later I was disappointed. The screen froze a lot. The touch screen is VERY sensitive. If you throw it on your bed it will turn in and go to your messages or something. And it doesn't give you a lot of space for messages. It tells you to delete them around 200. I guess its okay but some of the features are disappointing.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Limited Memory, Software Bugs, Freezes, sensitive touch screen
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

bad phone DO NOT buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
from council bluffs, IA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
while its great for texting and easy to use i always freezes and crashes and all of my images and music have been deleted
Pros: Durable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes, phone crashes, image loss, music loss
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst lg product ever

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Died after 15 months into a 2 year contract. You're screwed if you get this phone. Have two and second one is going down also. DO NOT THINK ABOUT IT !!!!
Pros: Menus, Battery Life, Tools
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this phone. The touchscreen feature is terrible for making calls

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from North English, IA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not buy this phone. The touchscreen feature unlocks while making calls. I am constantly hanging up on people because the screen unlocks while I am talking. I've tried holding it up against my ear and tried holding it out so it doesn't touch. Neither same to make a difference.
Pros: Good For Texting, Ease of Use
Cons: Volume Level, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good phone while it lasts

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had my phone for 2 weeks and it shut off on its own and then i went to turn it back on and it starts to and goes to the US Cellular screen and then shuts off and keeps doing that till you take the battery out. But its a good phone if you only need one for 2 weeks and then want to get a new one.
Cons: Software Bugs, Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this phone

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this phone. Great as a phone, great for texting, love the home screen where I can put those numbers I call most frequently
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product has a bad battery life.

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have this phone and after around 9 months of using it the battery is completely trash! In the middle of calls or texting someone it would turn off.i do not suggest it.
Pros: Good For Texting, Menus, Tools, Ease of Use
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is great for a basic phone!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from NC
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have dropped this phone so many times and each time it has been perfectly fine. It is indestructible! Easy to use too, no complaints!
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use
Cons: stops music when a text is opened
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I have never hung up accidently on so many people in my life

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
from Cedar Rapids, IA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have never hung up accidently on so many people in my life while using this phone. Happened 10-15 times a day. VERY VERY frustrating! I would set my phone on my lap or in my purse and it would randomly call people in my contacts almost every time...grrr Before this LG Freedom I never had any problems with a phone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product is terrible!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I only had this phone for a week and the screen started flashing the white us cellular screen at me and when I took the battery out and tried to turn it back on it did the same thing. After letting it set for a couple of hours turned of with the battery in with the screen still blinking it would take forever to turn back on and would work for a little while then start doing it again! When it was working fine and I would go to charge it sometimes while on the charger it would shut it's self off and not come back on! Never again will I own this phone or one like it!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST PHONE EVER!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Cedar Rapids
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone I've ever had. Reception is fine as well as ease of use, but I hang up on people or dial others all the time when I'm on the phone if I don't have it held away from my face and ear. The lock feature is random, you think it's locked and it's not. I am actually going to go spend the money to transfer back to my old phone and promptly throw this one in the trash where it belongs.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disspointed!

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
from Illinois
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have had this darn thing two and still trying to figure it out. Went with an LG because I've had good luck in past but this thing shouldn't be on the market. Very difficult to use. Constantly calling wrong numbers. Very sensitive to use. Often have to start over. Still trying to figure out how to set up mail box. Very difficult to scroll. Very difficult to text. Wish I had my LG flip back. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.
Pros: Speaker, Battery Life
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular