U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop All Phones or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer reviews for LG LG Freedom™

LG LG Freedom™

Applicable Shared Connect Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Simple Connect Plan required. $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Connect Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. applies.Messaging is quick and easy with the LG Freedom. With a flick of the finger to the left or right on the home screen, you can text your favorite contacts or read your latest conversations with bubble-threaded messaging, all viewable on the 3.0" touchscreen. The side-sliding QWERTY keyboard is compact and convenient for texting, but the Freedom is more than just a messaging handset. Enjoy music wirelessly with the Freedom's stereo Bluetooth capabilities and music player, and capture every moment with the 2.0 MP camera.
Overall rating:
2.823 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
15
1 Star
26
36 out of 79(46%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
142 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer reviews for LG Freedom™
Review 1 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissapointing

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wrote a review for this phone awhile ago, but now that I've had for a long time, I realized it is a terrible product. It freezes ALL the time. It is VERY sensitve, it will hang up if you touch your face to the screen and it will just randomly turn on and off. The keys are too small. If the phone freezes it will make you restart it. And it constantly freezes if you go to the message screen. I do not reccomend this product at all.
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just say no...

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The worst phones ever...and I bought two! got them for my children, both have dialed random people and froze up. My son's phone gave out before my daughter's and hers just recently gave out.
Cons: Limited Memory, Durability, Freezes, everything!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I do not like this product at all

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from California
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The screen stopped working. It will not let me touch the screen when the slider is out or after I put hte slider back in. When I try to go to messages in freezes on the loading page until I hold the off button. It will not let me scroll up and down or left and right. The main screen will not let me in. Sometimes it will shut off by itself. It just gets worse and worse by each day and now my screen has totally stopped working.
Other things not having to do with the phone being broken: It only allows you to hae 400 messages at once and one you hit 320 a screen pops up and tells you what percent of your message box is full.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst lg product ever

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Died after 15 months into a 2 year contract. You're screwed if you get this phone. Have two and second one is going down also. DO NOT THINK ABOUT IT !!!!
Pros: Menus, Battery Life, Tools
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this phone. The touchscreen feature is terrible for making calls

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from North English, IA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not buy this phone. The touchscreen feature unlocks while making calls. I am constantly hanging up on people because the screen unlocks while I am talking. I've tried holding it up against my ear and tried holding it out so it doesn't touch. Neither same to make a difference.
Pros: Good For Texting, Ease of Use
Cons: Volume Level, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST PHONE EVER!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Cedar Rapids
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone I've ever had. Reception is fine as well as ease of use, but I hang up on people or dial others all the time when I'm on the phone if I don't have it held away from my face and ear. The lock feature is random, you think it's locked and it's not. I am actually going to go spend the money to transfer back to my old phone and promptly throw this one in the trash where it belongs.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disspointed!

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
from Illinois
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have had this darn thing two and still trying to figure it out. Went with an LG because I've had good luck in past but this thing shouldn't be on the market. Very difficult to use. Constantly calling wrong numbers. Very sensitive to use. Often have to start over. Still trying to figure out how to set up mail box. Very difficult to scroll. Very difficult to text. Wish I had my LG flip back. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.
Pros: Speaker, Battery Life
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible phone!

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is horrible! I hate it! It dials random people and turns off all the time. It recieves my texts about 30 minutes after someone texts me. You cant change the lockscreen either. I would not reccomend this phone at all!
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst cell phone I've ever owned!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Maine
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is by far the worst cell phone I've ever owned. And I've owned twenty phones. This phone freezes constantly, turns off on its own, I can't change the lock screen wallpaper, and calls people when its on my shelf touching nothing. And its gone through all my minutes in my plans and cost me extra due to this inconvenience. I wouldn't recommend this product to anybody.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is a dud!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
from Oklahoma City, OK
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone I have ever used! It is not user friendly, requires countless adjustments, items appear on the screen that you did not select to have there! I would not recommend the purchase of the LG Freedom phone to anyone!!!
Cons: Operating System, Small Keys, Freezes, not easy to use!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hate it...

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
from Oskaloosa, IA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone because it is one of the very FEW that you can get where you don't have to have a data plan. I catch it randomly calling people all the time. The chat feature on the text messages never goes to the right person and conversation. Half the time when I reply to a text message, it will go to a different person. The camera is worthless also.
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Software Bugs, camera
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
from wv
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
i would NOT recommend this phone to anyone EVER ! It hangs up whenever it decides to, locks all the time , wayyyyyyyyyyyy to sensitive on the screen - i am awaiting the FLIP TOP to arrive & then i am done with this . I continually keep the SPEAKER PHONE ON due to the fact the phone hangs up . A terrible terrible piece of equipment. Definitely NOT usere friendly.
Pros: Good For Texting
Cons: Freezes, everything else
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recommended

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Myself and another family member both got this phone. Both of them turn off on their own all the time (after the 15 day replacement period). The chat display was poorly designed and often times doesn't display the text messages in chat view.
Pros: Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hangs up all the time

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The unlock button on this phone is very poorly planned out. Every time I use this phone to talk, my cheek hits the unlock button and then hangs up the phone. I hate, hate, hate this phone.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: hangs up during a call
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst phone I have ever owned.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
from WV
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone from my local US Cellular store no more than 16 days ago and the phone is already dead in the water and unusable. It has not been dropped or damaged in any way. It worked fine then one afternoon I went to use it and it was stuck in some sort of boot up screen with a white background and the US Cellular logo in the middle. Cant turn it off/on, it wont charge, attempted to restore from LG website and the phone would not even allow connection for restore. Its basically toast after only 16 days. I will not have another of this type and do not recommend other to buy it either.
Pros: Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waited for this phone and I hate it!

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
from Milford, NH
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I waited for this phone to come out I have always had LG phones and I usually love them but, this thing has been a pain in the butt since I got it. If I touch my cheek or my ear to the touch screen it hangs up the phone. I have a daughter who is ill and I am consulting with Drs. on a fairly regular basis and it hangs up. I talk to anyone it hangs up. Over and over and over again!! Hate it!!!
Pros: Good For Texting, Menus, Tools
Cons: Battery Life, hangs up
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst phone I've ever had

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
from Moline, IL
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't get this one. Opt for something else. I have had problems since the beginning. This phone has frozen on me, but at times takes on a life of it's own. I leave the room, and come back a half hour later, and easy edge is pulled up (which I don't use...and they were supposed to disable for me). The touch screen is super-touchy sometimes, and at other times won't work.
Cons: Operating System, Full Navigation, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keyboard great but touch screen is terrible

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the keyboard and the fact of no data plan required. Touch screen is very tempermental. I live by the calender on my phone and it is very tetious to enter data. To make phone calls or text, need to go through several screens before getting to the one you want. Deciding if I will go back to my old phone or proceed to a Smart phone but I am not staying with the Freedom.
Cons: Operating System
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I expected better

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
It is easy enough to use but there are a few problems. It makes random calls while its just sitting there, not being touched. When texting you press a key and it will read that you pressed it multiple times, at random times while texting.
Pros: Menus, Tools, Ease of Use
Cons: Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wouldn't recommend this phone at all

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
from Pearl City, Il
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen Keeps freezing doesn't always do what I want it to shuts down randomly sometimes overall this is not a phone I would recommend at all one bit.
Pros: Speaker, Good For Texting, Tools
Cons: Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular