U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop All Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for LG LG Freedom™

LG LG Freedom™

After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Shared Connect Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $40 act. fee applies.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Simple Connect Plan required.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $40 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Connect Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. applies.Messaging is quick and easy with the LG Freedom. With a flick of the finger to the left or right on the home screen, you can text your favorite contacts or read your latest conversations with bubble-threaded messaging, all viewable on the 3.0" touchscreen. The side-sliding QWERTY keyboard is compact and convenient for texting, but the Freedom is more than just a messaging handset. Enjoy music wirelessly with the Freedom's stereo Bluetooth capabilities and music player, and capture every moment with the 2.0 MP camera.
Overall rating:
2.759 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
17
1 Star
30
38 out of 87(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
160 Questions | 92 Answers
Customer reviews for LG Freedom™
Review 1 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst phone I've had yet

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
from Mount Vernon, IA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
it pocket dials constantly, will turn off and on while holding in hand without pushing a button. It pocket dialed so many times one of my closest friends asked me to delete her contact
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Formerly a good phone now downgraded

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
from Richfield, WI
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have almost always used LG phones and have had very little issues with them. They were reliable, durable, and generally easy to use. The last phones I bought were the LG Banter which is the earlier version of this phone. I loved the first one I got so much that that I bought 2 more while they were still available. Sadly, I wore them out or broke them. So I saw the LG Freedom and thought it would be following in in the line of good products. I was SO wrong! I am on my 3rd in just over a month because the phone keeps rebooting itself randomly. The keyboard is extremely hard to see in anything but a perfect light situation. Some of the keys are hard to press and will double press often. There is frequently static on the calls that I don't get from my last remaining working Banter that is connected on another line. It opens from the other direction than the Banter did. If I don't use a headset with the phone the touchy screen hangs up on people all the time by touching my face. In short, it seems that they took everything that was good from the Banter and removed it for the Freedom. This is absolutely the worst LG product I have ever had the misfortune to own. And since LG apparently doesn't make any other phone of this particular type I am very likely never to buy another one of their phones again unless they come up with a WORKING replacement for this type.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes, numerous issues
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This phone is great when it works. Cycles off without warning. When texting letters double print frequently requiring many corrections.

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from waterloo ,iowa
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is great when it works. Cycles off without warning. DOuble prints letters during texting requiring frequent corrections. 8 months old and had softwear problem, then at 13 months it fried completely. No one will stand behind it. If you like to trow money away then this phone is for you. Otherwise steer clear.
Pros: Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissapointing

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wrote a review for this phone awhile ago, but now that I've had for a long time, I realized it is a terrible product. It freezes ALL the time. It is VERY sensitve, it will hang up if you touch your face to the screen and it will just randomly turn on and off. The keys are too small. If the phone freezes it will make you restart it. And it constantly freezes if you go to the message screen. I do not reccomend this product at all.
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just say no...

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The worst phones ever...and I bought two! got them for my children, both have dialed random people and froze up. My son's phone gave out before my daughter's and hers just recently gave out.
Cons: Limited Memory, Durability, Freezes, everything!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I do not like this product at all

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from California
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The screen stopped working. It will not let me touch the screen when the slider is out or after I put hte slider back in. When I try to go to messages in freezes on the loading page until I hold the off button. It will not let me scroll up and down or left and right. The main screen will not let me in. Sometimes it will shut off by itself. It just gets worse and worse by each day and now my screen has totally stopped working.
Other things not having to do with the phone being broken: It only allows you to hae 400 messages at once and one you hit 320 a screen pops up and tells you what percent of your message box is full.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst lg product ever

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Died after 15 months into a 2 year contract. You're screwed if you get this phone. Have two and second one is going down also. DO NOT THINK ABOUT IT !!!!
Pros: Menus, Battery Life, Tools
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this phone. The touchscreen feature is terrible for making calls

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from North English, IA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not buy this phone. The touchscreen feature unlocks while making calls. I am constantly hanging up on people because the screen unlocks while I am talking. I've tried holding it up against my ear and tried holding it out so it doesn't touch. Neither same to make a difference.
Pros: Good For Texting, Ease of Use
Cons: Volume Level, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST PHONE EVER!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Cedar Rapids
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone I've ever had. Reception is fine as well as ease of use, but I hang up on people or dial others all the time when I'm on the phone if I don't have it held away from my face and ear. The lock feature is random, you think it's locked and it's not. I am actually going to go spend the money to transfer back to my old phone and promptly throw this one in the trash where it belongs.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disspointed!

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
from Illinois
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have had this darn thing two and still trying to figure it out. Went with an LG because I've had good luck in past but this thing shouldn't be on the market. Very difficult to use. Constantly calling wrong numbers. Very sensitive to use. Often have to start over. Still trying to figure out how to set up mail box. Very difficult to scroll. Very difficult to text. Wish I had my LG flip back. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.
Pros: Speaker, Battery Life
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible phone!

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is horrible! I hate it! It dials random people and turns off all the time. It recieves my texts about 30 minutes after someone texts me. You cant change the lockscreen either. I would not reccomend this phone at all!
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst cell phone I've ever owned!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Maine
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is by far the worst cell phone I've ever owned. And I've owned twenty phones. This phone freezes constantly, turns off on its own, I can't change the lock screen wallpaper, and calls people when its on my shelf touching nothing. And its gone through all my minutes in my plans and cost me extra due to this inconvenience. I wouldn't recommend this product to anybody.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Battery Life
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is a dud!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
from Oklahoma City, OK
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst phone I have ever used! It is not user friendly, requires countless adjustments, items appear on the screen that you did not select to have there! I would not recommend the purchase of the LG Freedom phone to anyone!!!
Cons: Operating System, Small Keys, Freezes, not easy to use!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hate it...

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
from Oskaloosa, IA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this phone because it is one of the very FEW that you can get where you don't have to have a data plan. I catch it randomly calling people all the time. The chat feature on the text messages never goes to the right person and conversation. Half the time when I reply to a text message, it will go to a different person. The camera is worthless also.
Pros: Battery Life
Cons: Software Bugs, camera
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
from wv
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
i would NOT recommend this phone to anyone EVER ! It hangs up whenever it decides to, locks all the time , wayyyyyyyyyyyy to sensitive on the screen - i am awaiting the FLIP TOP to arrive & then i am done with this . I continually keep the SPEAKER PHONE ON due to the fact the phone hangs up . A terrible terrible piece of equipment. Definitely NOT usere friendly.
Pros: Good For Texting
Cons: Freezes, everything else
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recommended

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Myself and another family member both got this phone. Both of them turn off on their own all the time (after the 15 day replacement period). The chat display was poorly designed and often times doesn't display the text messages in chat view.
Pros: Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hangs up all the time

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The unlock button on this phone is very poorly planned out. Every time I use this phone to talk, my cheek hits the unlock button and then hangs up the phone. I hate, hate, hate this phone.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: hangs up during a call
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst phone I have ever owned.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
from WV
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this phone from my local US Cellular store no more than 16 days ago and the phone is already dead in the water and unusable. It has not been dropped or damaged in any way. It worked fine then one afternoon I went to use it and it was stuck in some sort of boot up screen with a white background and the US Cellular logo in the middle. Cant turn it off/on, it wont charge, attempted to restore from LG website and the phone would not even allow connection for restore. Its basically toast after only 16 days. I will not have another of this type and do not recommend other to buy it either.
Pros: Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waited for this phone and I hate it!

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
from Milford, NH
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I waited for this phone to come out I have always had LG phones and I usually love them but, this thing has been a pain in the butt since I got it. If I touch my cheek or my ear to the touch screen it hangs up the phone. I have a daughter who is ill and I am consulting with Drs. on a fairly regular basis and it hangs up. I talk to anyone it hangs up. Over and over and over again!! Hate it!!!
Pros: Good For Texting, Menus, Tools
Cons: Battery Life, hangs up
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG Freedom™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst phone I've ever had

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
from Moline, IL
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't get this one. Opt for something else. I have had problems since the beginning. This phone has frozen on me, but at times takes on a life of it's own. I leave the room, and come back a half hour later, and easy edge is pulled up (which I don't use...and they were supposed to disable for me). The touch screen is super-touchy sometimes, and at other times won't work.
Cons: Operating System, Full Navigation, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular