U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop Android Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for LG Genesis™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at U.S. Cellular.

LG Genesis™

The LG Genesis brings the world to your fingertips with Android 2.2, a powerful 1GHz Snapdragon processor and thousands of apps available through Android Market. Take advantage of the Smartphone's 2 large touchscreens, featuring Swype continuous-motion text input on the outside and a full QWERTY keyboard on the inside. With 5 or 7 customizable home screens, it's your shortcut to business e-mail with full Microsoft Exchangee-mail support. Keep in touch with friends and family through its social networking capabilities, and beam your onboard photos, movies and music to DLNA-enabled TVs, game consoles and entertainment systems for sharing.
Overall rating:
4.086 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(139 reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 139 reviews
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
12
1 Star
9
111 out of 139(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for LG Genesis™
Review 1 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

all around good

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
a little to big and heavy but its still a good phone.also,its almost impossible to get the battery cover off.
Pros: Durable, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Bulky/Heavy, cover is hard to take off
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I hate this Phone!!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer avatar
from Des Moines
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
this is the worst phone that i have ever had!!! i had it for about 2 months before it started to stop working...i hate it and i am looking forward to getting a new phone as soon as posible!
Pros: Speaker, Wi-fi capable, good keyboard for texting
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Bulky/Heavy, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

VERY DURABLE, GREAT FOR TEXTING, TERRIBLE FOR GAMING/VIDEO/ETC...

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer avatar
from North Carolina
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I will say, if you're looking for a very durable smartphone, this is the one. I have dropped it time and time again, and it has survived! It got left in the rain for 45 min and after checking on it, it was completely okay with no water damage.
On the other hand, if you like to watch a lot of videos or play games, this is not the phone for you. It freezes up during most games, messing up your score. It also takes ages for a Youtube video or Pandora radio to load, and once it finally plays it freezes all the time to buffer.
To say the least, I was not very impressed with the performance of my LG Genesis. Yes, it is an amazing phone for texting and is very durable, but the "smartphone" specs of it are not good.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Bulky/Heavy, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery dies so fast!

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
from Waterloo, IA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
The phone covers take the paint off, phone messes up if you keep flipping it, dies so fast. yup, not the best. Speaker is not loud for listening to music
Pros: Speaker, Good For Texting, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Bulky/Heavy, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice phone, love the real keyboard option.

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer avatar
from Omaha
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice phone, love the real keyboard option. Sometimes it drops the 3G and then I have to reboot the phone to get it back. The screen is great for a phone, I don't use my phone often for surfing the web. That is what I have a PC and a tablet for.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Wi-fi capable, not iphone
Cons: drops 3g from time to time then i have to reboot
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Had several problems

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
from maryville.tn
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Honestly this phone is like a 50/50 I had my first one for maybe 3 months then all the sudden I was unable to make call or accept them. I then got another one that was brand new not even a week ago and its already doing the same thing. There is no damage what so ever. I even bought a strong case. But I have never dropped the phone or the phone has never had water damage. Ive been with us cellular for a little over 6 yrs now and I've had great service. Sadly though if they will not give me a different brand of phone I will switch service. I just dont see the point in giving me another new phone if I know it will mess up again.. I also use my phone for work and my boss has to text me because I cant receive phone calls.
Pros: Games, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent General Use Phone

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
from Wisconsin
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use my phone for social media, browsing the web for personal as well as business, playing games (wasting time), checking email, texting, and of course, talking. It was easy to use, from the first time I picked it up, and hasn't disappointed me yet. This is the longest I have had a phone without wanting a different one.
Pros: Good For Texting, Ease of Use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best on the market!

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
from Lewisburg, WV
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
This phone has everything! It has a flip keyboard and an on-screen one.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

would not recommend

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
from Auburn, NE
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is my 3 genesis since october! My first one I could hear people that called me but they couldn't hear me (happened less than 30 days after I got it), my second one the screen would stay black when flipped open to use keypad (again happend shortly after I got it), and this one has decided to tell me my sd card is unmounted and when it does that it erases all the new pics I have taken...this happens numerous times a day everyday! I would not recommend this phone to anyone and can't wait to upgrade!
Pros: Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Freezes, glitches
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Had some problems...

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got this phone a little over a week ago. I loved it and I still do. The problem is that its been glitching everytime i open the phone to use the keyboard. Today the phone had that pixelated black and white thing on the screen and sometimes the touch screen doesnt show up when I recieve a text message. Im probably going to return the phone for a new one. :(
Pros: Games, Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am so glad I got this phone!

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
from Mexico, Mo
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I obsessed with the phone options available with US cellular. I read reviews and I kept returning to this phone. Finally I went to the store itself and physically played with the two choices that I narrowed it down to. I have had it for two days now and I have most of it figured out. I like the fact that it has two touch screens. This is a feature that drew me to the phone and it is very helpful. This phone is literally like having a min laptop in your hands. In fact I was planning on getting a laptop before finding this phone and now i don't need to. With all the apps available I am able to do pretty much anything a laptop can do with my phone. Please keep this model in stock or continue making models as good as this one! I am one happy customer. The battery doesn't last all day, but you know what? I still like this phone enough not to care. I will just have to get a car charger and considering all that this phone has to offer its worth it to me.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable, two full touch screens, laptop feel but smaller, great volume don't need ear piece
Cons: Battery Life, they stopped selling in stores.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had this for over a year. Love it better than the kids' iPhones!

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
from Brewer, ME
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the dual screens, which offers privacy in certain settings. It's kinda like having a mini-laptop for surfing, etc., too with the keyboard when you have it flipped open. For general texting and calling I usually use it closed.
It also would serve a purpose I guess if you dropped your phone and the screen cracked...you have a backup...tho I have dropped this phone on several occasions and it still works perfectly.
I love this better than the newer phones US Cellular has come up with and will be sad if I can no longer get this phone again when the time comes if I don't like any of the newer ones out.
This phone has been used to pay my bills via mobile, surf the web, play games, gmail and yahoo email accounts, make purchases on Amazon.com, download music, download games, download several types of apps; productivity programs, reading books on the free Amazon Kindle app; lots of texting via swype and voice recognition, and also voice calls. I am sure there are many other functions the phone is capable of I haven't even done yet.
My two daughters have iPhones. Their signal isn't as good as mine and I feel there are better apps out there available for Android that iPhones don't have access, too. I love how Amazon.com offers a free Android app of the day, too. Thanks, Amazon and US Cellular :-)
It occasionally freezes, but mostly when it just plain needs a break to cool off for a few minutes.
Lastly, I most generally use my camera for taking photos and video, but like to have some photos on my phone to show off my kids to friends and family or for quick sharing on FaceBook. This camera/video is definitely sufficient...oh and recording voices of the kids doing silly things and then playing it back for them <hehe>
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Tools, Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable, swyping capability, voice recognition for texting, dual-screens, like a mini laptop and phone all in one
Cons: would like to have an upgrade on operating system
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good phone

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the phone. It is a lot faster than my HTC desire. The battery is what it is. All smart phones use alot of battery. I down loaded a application killer, and I don't worry about it. I would highly reccomend this phone.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap Low End Phone

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
from Palmyra MO
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I hate my Genesis. I have to reset it at least once a day. It is slow in processing any App. The Battery life is very Poor. The touchscreen does not respond consistently. Very frustrating. I can wait until I can enough belief points to upgrade to a better phone. This is a cheap, low end phone. It is not worth the money.
Cons: Battery Life, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I don't know if the battery is worth it

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
from Greenville, NC
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love LG phones and for the most part this phone has it all. Games, graphics, camera, video, mp3, even an awesome GSP that I prefer over my own. However, I literally have to charge my battery after about playing around with it for an hour or so. Just doing a simple game/task will drain the battery about 25% of the power and will continue to the point where you have to charge the phone every 2-3 hours. For that reason only I don't like the phone. I don't like having to bring a charger everywhere I go...
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Bulky/Heavy
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

dislike!

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
i totally hate this phone!!!! it has given me problems since i bought it!! if i could do it all over i would have never gotten it.... ugh
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very fast durable phone.

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
from Norfolk NE
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Owned for a week now. Only one complaint. The wifi doesn't seem to be as good as the Repp. I had the Repp, could pull in a signal from across the street, but doesn't even register on this one. Seems heavy but that doesn't bother me one bit. That's it, other then that I love this phone.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Camera/Video Quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Phone I've Ever Had.

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
from Delmar, IA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is amazing I never thought the Android's were easy to use, but the Genisis really said a statement to me.. Wow. This phone is the best I had ever had. But I must say the battery life was a little bit on the down side.. Anways; Congrats to you U.S. Cellular!
Pros: amazing overall
Cons: Battery Life
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A solid android phone

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
from wisconsin
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love my genesis, but it does have some problems.
1. It will freeze and say "force close" Just tap that and it will start working again instantly.
2. the battery life is a little annoying, but it can fully charge within like 2 hours.
3. I do not know if it's the genesis fault or the networks fault but the 3G internet doesn't always work or is super slow. I usually use wireless internet though.
What I love about this phone is it's easy to figure out and use. They keyboard is a great feature. It's a pretty solid phone. The camera quality is really good and pretty clear.
Pros: Games, Good For Texting, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for LG Genesis™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really go oust of 5 stars broke my scales

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
from kenosha wi
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
i looove this phone it was my first smart phone and this phone made me love smart phones and i dont no what i would do without it it helps alot even in ur life!! so get of the computer and go buy it! =)
Pros: Good For Texting, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Bulky/Heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular