U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop All Phones or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer reviews for Kyocera Kyocera DuraPro

Kyocera Kyocera DuraPro

After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Shared Connect Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Simple Connect Plan required. $35 act. fee applies.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Connect Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. applies.The ruggedized Kyocera DuraPro is built to Military Standard 810G for dust, shock, vibration, temperature extremes, blowing rain, low pressure, solar radiation, salt fog, humidity and water immersion. The Kyocera DuraPro is encased in a special Dura-Grip material for extra durability and its robust front-ported speaker comes through clearly even in noisy environments. It's preloaded with essential applications like email, web browser and navigation. It also accommodates microSD memory cards up to 32GB for storing large files like photographs and videos.
Overall rating:
2.481 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
8
1 Star
23
21 out of 54(39%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
94 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer reviews for Kyocera DuraPro
Review 1 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

this phone has some issues

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
from Tulsa OK
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
this thing has buttons on the hinges, that should not be there, no zoom on pictures, and I have to take the battery out to reboot it, but you can drop it without it getting damaged...
Pros: Durable, Battery Life
Cons: Bulky/Heavy, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

redials sporadically

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
phone redials when it is in my pocket the last number that was called. service provider says it is
Kyocera problem and suggests I get a smart phone.
Have thrown the phone to the ground many times in
disgust but it won't break.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

phone freezes when videos are sent to it from smart phones

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would not recommend this phone to anyone who sends text and video messages. Phone locks up all the time.
Pros: Speaker
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pocket dials

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
from Milwaukee, wi
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only thing bad is it likes to pocket dial your last number.
Pros: Durable, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Major design flaw

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from Madison, WI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
A button on the top of the phone disables the key lock.
This results in frequent pocket dialing. There is no way
to disable this problem. Also the volume is
too low to hear in a work van when turned
all the way up. This phone needs to be redesigned.
Pros: Durable, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Bulky/Heavy, pocket dialer
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cant even put ringtones on it. sad

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
sad not fixing firmware updates.............................................................................
Pros: Durable
Cons: Operating System
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simply put, a great phone

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Once personalized, making the list show in stead of icons the navigation was simple. Getting the toggles around the center button personalized made it even better. I changed the outside button that was to easy edge, to calender. I don't see what others are complaining about. Its as simple to use as any other phone I've had once personalized. And, I have the Motorola Quantico. I bought this for my wife. She gets along great with it.
We don't send pictures to computers just to other phones, same for video's. This works simple and easy with quality in mind. The flash, I shut it off it takes good low light pictures with out it. And pet pictures don't have glowing white eyes from the flash.
I blue toothed my phone numbers to hers, and did the same for ring tones just to find out you can not use the ring tones for personal contacts. That part is the only complaint I have. I had to record a video of my phone playing George Therogood, then tell the personal ringer to point to the video folder to use it. What the heck, you can't point to the audio folder, but you can the Video! The sound recorder had very good quality reproduction, so to tell the truth it worked great, you can hardly tell the difference. Distance between the two devices plays into that so make sure you get that correct! I was 3' away, yes three feet.
Phone conversations are clear, on both ends. I've talked on it, and of course spoke to my wife. I think to many people don't take the time to personalize the phone. Its not that hard. But, I did have to do it for my wife. She's a very bright lady, but doesn't take time to look into doing things like this. She just wants to talk and send text messages and pictures with out having to change anything. That is why I made it so simple for her to use. Reception is great, she works in the hospital, other phones we have had did not get reception in the emergency room. This like mine does.
The ringer, is loud!!! The ear piece volume is loud and clear as well. And talking to her its loud and clear as well. Some of that attributes to my phone, but I can turn my volume down and still hear her clearly.
I like my Quantico but would not be afraid of this phone when I need a replacement. Nothing is worth a 5 rating, I think 4 tells it all, I recommend this phone. She has only had it for 4 days, but that is time enough to know its worth it. Today is the first time to charge the battery. She sends a lot of text messages to the kids, and some to the grand-kids!
Look at the size, don't expect to put it in your tight blue jeans lady's! We still ride and we both needed water proof phones. They make belt side cases for phones LOL.
This phone is a easy to use, navigate around and has quality written all over it. If you take the time to personalize the phone, you too will find this out.
I know this is long, but I just don't see the complaints. I recommend this phone. Just be sure and personalize it for speed and ease!!
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: ring tones have to be down loaded., some lady's may no t like the size.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT GET THIS PHONE

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
from plattville, wi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is very difficult to navagate. Too many buttons on the outside so you put in your pocket any button can be pressed. The outside buttons stick out so they will be pressed accidentally. I went from haveing this phone for a week to a phone I used 5 years ago because it was better than this. The only good thing about this phone is it is durable/waterproof but it is not worth the protection to get this phone.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband needs a tough phone. He went through 2 quanticos in 2 years. We bought this one as another replacement. Its not good with texting, even though my husband does very little, this one is aweful. It only keeps like 25 calls in your history which is not enough. You can't download songs on it either.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Limited Memory
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ok but not great, not many choices for "non smart" phones

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from IL
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
quits working, must remove and replace battery to restart. has poor volume level
Cons: Volume Level, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

THIS IS NO GOOD FOR YOU!

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
from anywhere, IOWA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had this phone for one week! SOFTWARE ISSUES BIG TIME! It would place and receive calls, but sporadically! the only thing I can say good is the battery holds a charge, otherwise forget it! NO, I DIDN'T PUT IT IN WATER LIKE OTHERS. This is just a poor cell phone, and I would highly recommend getting something different. ANYTHING!
Pros: Durable, Battery Life, flooter
Cons: Volume Level, Operating System, Software Bugs, flooter as in toilet!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features.

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from Maine
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is rugged, waterproof, shockproof, loud speaker, large print when you switch from "NORMAL" to " LARGE" print. When you call 911, it locks so emergency can't lose your signal. It has a good quality heavy feel to it. I would recommend this phone.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Limited Memory, needs a vintage ringtone to select.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Design

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer avatar
from Greenville, NC
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ive had this phone for almost a year and I do not like it at all. It's too easy to hit the buttons on the side of the phone, texting is difficult and it locks up on me from time to time. The only good thing about this phone is that it's rugged & water resistant which is the main reason I bought it but I will never buy another Kyocera product again. Pure junk!
Pros: Durable, Battery Life
Cons: Freezes, bad for texting, awkward buttons on side of phone
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This phone was great at first....not so much anymore

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer avatar
from Manchester, NH
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
After having this phone for a couple months now, I've had more and more problems with the phone freezing up and being glitchy, The phone works great as a mallet or a paper weight, and can take a lot of abuse, but i have had some issues like the ones mentioned earlier.
Ignoring the bad parts, i like the durability of the phone, and also how loud the speaker is.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dura pro

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
All I wanted was easy use flip phone. Went on vacation-phone quit working. Ended up taking battery out 4 separate times for it to finally start working again. Came home-US cell rep stated could have been the heat. Since then this has happened several more times in 70 degree weather-so don't think the heat had anything to do with it. May have been helpful if there had been a detailed information sheet/booklet included with the phone-but wasn't. If I had it over to do again would probably NOT get this phone-but in reading the other reviews on the other phones-guess wouldn't be getting a flip phone either.
Pros: Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality, like the volume levels
Cons: shuts down on its own
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Butt dial prone

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from NC
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had to replace my Quantico but have been disappointed in this phone. It has keyguad lock but the keyguard disable button is on the exterior of the phone.! Looks like the designer was an idiot. What good is keyguard when putting it into your pocket disables it. I called a friend at two o'clock in the morning when I bent over to untie my boots. I tried phone lock but who wants to lock and then unlock then relock every time you make a call. This is a sloppily designed phone.
Pros: Durable, Battery Life, volume level
Cons: Operating System, butt dials
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would not recommend this phone.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
from Illinois
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst cell phone I have ever had. The phone is bad about call number saved on your phone by its self. Us cellular needs some good flip phones.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Battery Life, Bulky/Heavy, Freezes, camera
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
iowa
Posted January 9, 2014
good battery life and will take a drop other then that shuts off on its own specially in cold weather so no I wouldn't recommend this phone
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good, with minor qualifications

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
from midcoast maine
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this for reasons similar to those posted by others: mainly because I'm sure that I'd quickly destroy a smartphone, and my trusty ancient Samsung didn't like a dip in the pool.
Reception is good so far - need to get to our north woods, though, to be sure; sound levels are stunning; battery life is excellent; the overall "feel" is good; external controls are handy: Software is clunky, but suffices, and I agree that ring tones could be "upgraded".
The only physical property I'm wondering about is durability of the hinge. Size, weight, etc., are not an issue, but do get a holster, as this isn't an easy to pocket phone.
The only other phone I've seen that I'd have considered is a milspec smartphone made by Casio. Had US Celluar offered it, ida bought it.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great phone

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
from Augusta me
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
It a great phone. I'm a truck driver. I have dropped nothing happen to it. My dog chewed on it and it never put a mark on it. Dropped it in water and it still worked not water damage at all. If u looking for great basic phone this is for u. Not high tec .easy to use it
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good phone

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from Washington, ME, USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
If you watch the video and it looks like a phone you would want then buy it it is very nice and well made. It is a basic phone they all freeze . Also has a great camera.
Pros: Durable, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Limited Memory, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular