U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop All Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Kyocera Kyocera DuraPro

Kyocera Kyocera DuraPro

After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Shared Connect Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $40 act. fee applies.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Simple Connect Plan required.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $40 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Connect Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. applies.The ruggedized Kyocera DuraPro is built to Military Standard 810G for dust, shock, vibration, temperature extremes, blowing rain, low pressure, solar radiation, salt fog, humidity and water immersion. The Kyocera DuraPro is encased in a special Dura-Grip material for extra durability and its robust front-ported speaker comes through clearly even in noisy environments. It's preloaded with essential applications like email, web browser and navigation. It also accommodates microSD memory cards up to 32GB for storing large files like photographs and videos.
Overall rating:
2.302 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
10
1 Star
30
21 out of 63(33%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
112 Questions | 84 Answers
Customer reviews for Kyocera DuraPro
Review 1 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bring back the Motorola Quantico!!!

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
from White Mountains of New Hampshire
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ditto to what KED614 said!! I have had nothing but trouble with this phone since day one. Absolutely no comparison to the Quantico. Wished I had not gotten rid of my Motorola Quantico. This was a horrible replacement phone.... bring back the Quantico, PLEASE!
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible phone

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from Lake Waccamaw, NC
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone freezes all the time and cuts off completely. Calls do not come though and do not show in the missed calls. Text messages will freeze the phone. The phone will cut off for no reason, even when the battery is charged. I have to remove the battery and put it back in to get the phone to come back on. The free phones I have gotten in the past work way better than this phone. Not worth the money at all. Can't wait for the contract to come up again so I can get rid of this phone. Do not waste your money on this.
Cons: Battery Life, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is good for one thing / TARGET PRACTICE

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
from Eastern NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
A lot of missed calls, the case that is made for the phone will hit buttons and cause the ringer to be cut off. The battery has a mind of its own I guess. The phone will lock up with no warning and you will go hours and the phone will not ring. the only solution is when you actually realize what has happened take the battery out for about 5 seconds and replace. the phone will start back working but this happens about 2-3 times a week. If I was looking a phone and this was the only one I could get, I would go buy two cans of soup and some string, eat the soup and make a can phone. But this is company phone and they will not change it so I guess I will keep missing their calls..
Pros: Durable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good phone

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
from Weaverville CA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had this phone for 2 months. I finally broke it out of frustration. It would call back the last number & there was no way to stop it. Not through the instructions or through settings. I wanted to like it but that was not possible
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

battery life & volume pros don't outweigh cons

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
from iowa
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone has superb battery life, is very durable, and has very a very loud volume - which makes it great for tough noisy work environments. Even the reception is not bad, BUT there are two little buttons on top by the hinges that cause the phone to dial at random when the phone is in a pocket. These buttons CANNOT be disabled, only locked. The problem is, the same button is used to unlock, so when it is accidentally pressed while in your pocket, the random pocket dials begin again. THERE IS NO FIX FOR THIS ISSUE! This phone will also not allow any other ring tones to be used, other than what comes with the phone. Hello - this is the 21st century! Bottom line, if you do not mind calling people at random when the phone is in your pocket and you like to the pre-loaded ringtones, then this is the phone for you. Otherwise DO NOT GET THIS PHONE as it is very embarrassing to constantly apologize for accidentally calling people.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life
Cons: constant pocket dialing - no fix, customized ringtones not allowed
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Phone will non recommend

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from Southern Oregon
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
My Motorola was twice the phone this one is, this phone freezes up at least twice a week always when i need it most. Won't finish words when texting. It's a pain to read text's The one good thing is the ringer is loud.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Operating System, Full Navigation, Freezes, ...
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this phone!!!!!!

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
from Illinois
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy this phone. Don't take this phone if someone offers to give it to you for free. Here's the worst of it - if you are using it (either calling, receiving a call, on the phone, sending or receiving or creating a text# and you lose signal, even for a moment, the stupid thing locks up completely. You have to take the back off and remove the battery, reinsert it, replace the back, turn it back on and start over. Fail. On top of that, the menu is idiotic. You would think that, when you opened the menu, the highlighted bar would be at the top - not so! The Durapro menu starts in the middle of the items. Dumb. Text messaging - it remembers every word you've written, great idea, huh? How about when you accidentally misspell a word? That misspelled word is now a part of its lexicon. So, when you want to type in the word "don't" you have to type in "don" then scroll down through a number of words it thinks you may be interested in before it comes up with "don't." Also, if you have ever typed something like "87 degrees #only, used a degrees symbol#, when you want to end a sentence with "up." it automatically replaces "up" with "87 degrees." Yes, really. Another thing, to type in an apostrophe when you're texting, you have to press the camera button, which holds the symbols, find the apostrophe, then continue with the word. Why? The apostrophe is very common in the English language #think of how many times you type he's or that's or I'm, etc.#, why not put it with the other common symbols under the "1?" On top of that, the camera is just "meh." So, run away from this phone.
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes, bad for texting, bad menu, bad camera, worst phone i've ever owned
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Battery and Notifications

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from Madison, WI, USA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
An important feature of any communication device is it's available. Where I work we have several Durapros and they suffer the same problem. After a few months of use they begin to shut off without notification. We miss calls because the phone we are carrying does not tell you it is powering down
The short term fix is to pull the battery out for at least a minute. Put the battery back in and then you may be good for a few more hours or days. It is very intermittent, this happens though the battery is charged every night. If missing calls frustrates you I'd look for another model.
Cons: Battery Life, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer avatar
from midwest
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the first Kyocera I have ever owned, and it will be the last!
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: Operating System
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

this phone has some issues

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
from Tulsa OK
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
this thing has buttons on the hinges, that should not be there, no zoom on pictures, and I have to take the battery out to reboot it, but you can drop it without it getting damaged...
Pros: Durable, Battery Life
Cons: Bulky/Heavy, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

redials sporadically

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
phone redials when it is in my pocket the last number that was called. service provider says it is
Kyocera problem and suggests I get a smart phone.
Have thrown the phone to the ground many times in
disgust but it won't break.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

phone freezes when videos are sent to it from smart phones

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would not recommend this phone to anyone who sends text and video messages. Phone locks up all the time.
Pros: Speaker
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pocket dials

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
from Milwaukee, wi
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only thing bad is it likes to pocket dial your last number.
Pros: Durable, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Major design flaw

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from Madison, WI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
A button on the top of the phone disables the key lock.
This results in frequent pocket dialing. There is no way
to disable this problem. Also the volume is
too low to hear in a work van when turned
all the way up. This phone needs to be redesigned.
Pros: Durable, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Bulky/Heavy, pocket dialer
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cant even put ringtones on it. sad

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
sad not fixing firmware updates.............................................................................
Pros: Durable
Cons: Operating System
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simply put, a great phone

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Once personalized, making the list show in stead of icons the navigation was simple. Getting the toggles around the center button personalized made it even better. I changed the outside button that was to easy edge, to calender. I don't see what others are complaining about. Its as simple to use as any other phone I've had once personalized. And, I have the Motorola Quantico. I bought this for my wife. She gets along great with it.
We don't send pictures to computers just to other phones, same for video's. This works simple and easy with quality in mind. The flash, I shut it off it takes good low light pictures with out it. And pet pictures don't have glowing white eyes from the flash.
I blue toothed my phone numbers to hers, and did the same for ring tones just to find out you can not use the ring tones for personal contacts. That part is the only complaint I have. I had to record a video of my phone playing George Therogood, then tell the personal ringer to point to the video folder to use it. What the heck, you can't point to the audio folder, but you can the Video! The sound recorder had very good quality reproduction, so to tell the truth it worked great, you can hardly tell the difference. Distance between the two devices plays into that so make sure you get that correct! I was 3' away, yes three feet.
Phone conversations are clear, on both ends. I've talked on it, and of course spoke to my wife. I think to many people don't take the time to personalize the phone. Its not that hard. But, I did have to do it for my wife. She's a very bright lady, but doesn't take time to look into doing things like this. She just wants to talk and send text messages and pictures with out having to change anything. That is why I made it so simple for her to use. Reception is great, she works in the hospital, other phones we have had did not get reception in the emergency room. This like mine does.
The ringer, is loud!!! The ear piece volume is loud and clear as well. And talking to her its loud and clear as well. Some of that attributes to my phone, but I can turn my volume down and still hear her clearly.
I like my Quantico but would not be afraid of this phone when I need a replacement. Nothing is worth a 5 rating, I think 4 tells it all, I recommend this phone. She has only had it for 4 days, but that is time enough to know its worth it. Today is the first time to charge the battery. She sends a lot of text messages to the kids, and some to the grand-kids!
Look at the size, don't expect to put it in your tight blue jeans lady's! We still ride and we both needed water proof phones. They make belt side cases for phones LOL.
This phone is a easy to use, navigate around and has quality written all over it. If you take the time to personalize the phone, you too will find this out.
I know this is long, but I just don't see the complaints. I recommend this phone. Just be sure and personalize it for speed and ease!!
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: ring tones have to be down loaded., some lady's may no t like the size.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT GET THIS PHONE

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
from plattville, wi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone is very difficult to navagate. Too many buttons on the outside so you put in your pocket any button can be pressed. The outside buttons stick out so they will be pressed accidentally. I went from haveing this phone for a week to a phone I used 5 years ago because it was better than this. The only good thing about this phone is it is durable/waterproof but it is not worth the protection to get this phone.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband needs a tough phone. He went through 2 quanticos in 2 years. We bought this one as another replacement. Its not good with texting, even though my husband does very little, this one is aweful. It only keeps like 25 calls in your history which is not enough. You can't download songs on it either.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Limited Memory
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ok but not great, not many choices for "non smart" phones

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from IL
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
quits working, must remove and replace battery to restart. has poor volume level
Cons: Volume Level, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

THIS IS NO GOOD FOR YOU!

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
from anywhere, IOWA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had this phone for one week! SOFTWARE ISSUES BIG TIME! It would place and receive calls, but sporadically! the only thing I can say good is the battery holds a charge, otherwise forget it! NO, I DIDN'T PUT IT IN WATER LIKE OTHERS. This is just a poor cell phone, and I would highly recommend getting something different. ANYTHING!
Pros: Durable, Battery Life, flooter
Cons: Volume Level, Operating System, Software Bugs, flooter as in toilet!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular