U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop All Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Kyocera Kyocera DuraPro

Kyocera Kyocera DuraPro

After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Shared Connect Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $40 act. fee applies.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Simple Connect Plan required.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $40 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Connect Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. applies.The ruggedized Kyocera DuraPro is built to Military Standard 810G for dust, shock, vibration, temperature extremes, blowing rain, low pressure, solar radiation, salt fog, humidity and water immersion. The Kyocera DuraPro is encased in a special Dura-Grip material for extra durability and its robust front-ported speaker comes through clearly even in noisy environments. It's preloaded with essential applications like email, web browser and navigation. It also accommodates microSD memory cards up to 32GB for storing large files like photographs and videos.
Overall rating:
2.275 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
10
1 Star
34
22 out of 69(32%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
120 Questions | 90 Answers
Customer reviews for Kyocera DuraPro
Review 1 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Happy with this particular phone

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
from Roxboro, North Carolina
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
Doesn't have feature to send pictures to Online Album and cannot delete messages sent name without it erasing the person from contact list ?
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life, news a tool to send to online album
Cons: Bulky/Heavy, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't buy it

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
freeze ups constantly, side buttons a pain, competitor learned that long ago (us cellular dropped them but it was a way better phone). supposedly had a software upgrade, store told me no, contact backups doesn't work
Pros: Durable, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

After updating the phoneI am happy.

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from Alturas Ca
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
I also had a Quanico that the hinge broke and was replaced with the Dura pro. I also had the other problems that others mentioned with dropped calls, freezing and locking up when texting. I found the web sight that has a update for the Dura pro I updated the phone with the plug that hooks the phone up to my computer and it only takes a couple of minutes. Then I re started the phone and did the *228 for activation and phone roaming and updates. To date I no longer have any freezing or other software bug issues. The battery goes aprox 7 hrs talk time . I am now happy with this phone . The update made a huge difference in the performance of the phone.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life, Ease of Use
Cons: i just find it slow for texting.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this phone is junk

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
from des moines iowa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
The WORST phone I have had.Had a Quantico before and this phone is not even close to it.
I'm going back to the store and see about getting something different
THIS PHONE IS JUNK
Cons: Operating System, Full Navigation, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I hate it !!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
from Bartlesville, OK
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wish they would have put more thought into this phone. If you are going to build a phone like this NO buttons on the outside next time. Constantly pocket dialing people. Freezes all the time, Have to remove the battery to reset...
Pros: Durable
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes, outside buttons
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst phone I have ever owned.

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
from Knoxville, TN
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Freezes, drops calls, randomly calls numbers. Cannot hear people when they talk. Phone before was a Quantico that was great but wore out. Don't care how durable a phone is if it doesn't work.
Cons: Volume Level, Software Bugs, Freezes, can't hear caller.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bring back the Motorola Quantico!!!

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
from White Mountains of New Hampshire
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ditto to what KED614 said!! I have had nothing but trouble with this phone since day one. Absolutely no comparison to the Quantico. Wished I had not gotten rid of my Motorola Quantico. This was a horrible replacement phone.... bring back the Quantico, PLEASE!
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible phone

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from Lake Waccamaw, NC
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This phone freezes all the time and cuts off completely. Calls do not come though and do not show in the missed calls. Text messages will freeze the phone. The phone will cut off for no reason, even when the battery is charged. I have to remove the battery and put it back in to get the phone to come back on. The free phones I have gotten in the past work way better than this phone. Not worth the money at all. Can't wait for the contract to come up again so I can get rid of this phone. Do not waste your money on this.
Cons: Battery Life, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is good for one thing / TARGET PRACTICE

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
from Eastern NC
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
A lot of missed calls, the case that is made for the phone will hit buttons and cause the ringer to be cut off. The battery has a mind of its own I guess. The phone will lock up with no warning and you will go hours and the phone will not ring. the only solution is when you actually realize what has happened take the battery out for about 5 seconds and replace. the phone will start back working but this happens about 2-3 times a week. If I was looking a phone and this was the only one I could get, I would go buy two cans of soup and some string, eat the soup and make a can phone. But this is company phone and they will not change it so I guess I will keep missing their calls..
Pros: Durable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good phone

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
from Weaverville CA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had this phone for 2 months. I finally broke it out of frustration. It would call back the last number & there was no way to stop it. Not through the instructions or through settings. I wanted to like it but that was not possible
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

battery life & volume pros don't outweigh cons

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
from iowa
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
This phone has superb battery life, is very durable, and has very a very loud volume - which makes it great for tough noisy work environments. Even the reception is not bad, BUT there are two little buttons on top by the hinges that cause the phone to dial at random when the phone is in a pocket. These buttons CANNOT be disabled, only locked. The problem is, the same button is used to unlock, so when it is accidentally pressed while in your pocket, the random pocket dials begin again. THERE IS NO FIX FOR THIS ISSUE! This phone will also not allow any other ring tones to be used, other than what comes with the phone. Hello - this is the 21st century! Bottom line, if you do not mind calling people at random when the phone is in your pocket and you like to the pre-loaded ringtones, then this is the phone for you. Otherwise DO NOT GET THIS PHONE as it is very embarrassing to constantly apologize for accidentally calling people.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life
Cons: constant pocket dialing - no fix, customized ringtones not allowed
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Phone will non recommend

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from Southern Oregon
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
My Motorola was twice the phone this one is, this phone freezes up at least twice a week always when i need it most. Won't finish words when texting. It's a pain to read text's The one good thing is the ringer is loud.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Operating System, Full Navigation, Freezes, ...
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this phone!!!!!!

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
from Illinois
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy this phone. Don't take this phone if someone offers to give it to you for free. Here's the worst of it - if you are using it (either calling, receiving a call, on the phone, sending or receiving or creating a text# and you lose signal, even for a moment, the stupid thing locks up completely. You have to take the back off and remove the battery, reinsert it, replace the back, turn it back on and start over. Fail. On top of that, the menu is idiotic. You would think that, when you opened the menu, the highlighted bar would be at the top - not so! The Durapro menu starts in the middle of the items. Dumb. Text messaging - it remembers every word you've written, great idea, huh? How about when you accidentally misspell a word? That misspelled word is now a part of its lexicon. So, when you want to type in the word "don't" you have to type in "don" then scroll down through a number of words it thinks you may be interested in before it comes up with "don't." Also, if you have ever typed something like "87 degrees #only, used a degrees symbol#, when you want to end a sentence with "up." it automatically replaces "up" with "87 degrees." Yes, really. Another thing, to type in an apostrophe when you're texting, you have to press the camera button, which holds the symbols, find the apostrophe, then continue with the word. Why? The apostrophe is very common in the English language #think of how many times you type he's or that's or I'm, etc.#, why not put it with the other common symbols under the "1?" On top of that, the camera is just "meh." So, run away from this phone.
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes, bad for texting, bad menu, bad camera, worst phone i've ever owned
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Battery and Notifications

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from Madison, WI, USA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
An important feature of any communication device is it's available. Where I work we have several Durapros and they suffer the same problem. After a few months of use they begin to shut off without notification. We miss calls because the phone we are carrying does not tell you it is powering down
The short term fix is to pull the battery out for at least a minute. Put the battery back in and then you may be good for a few more hours or days. It is very intermittent, this happens though the battery is charged every night. If missing calls frustrates you I'd look for another model.
Cons: Battery Life, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer avatar
from midwest
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the first Kyocera I have ever owned, and it will be the last!
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: Operating System
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

this phone has some issues

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
from Tulsa OK
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
this thing has buttons on the hinges, that should not be there, no zoom on pictures, and I have to take the battery out to reboot it, but you can drop it without it getting damaged...
Pros: Durable, Battery Life
Cons: Bulky/Heavy, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

redials sporadically

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
phone redials when it is in my pocket the last number that was called. service provider says it is
Kyocera problem and suggests I get a smart phone.
Have thrown the phone to the ground many times in
disgust but it won't break.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

phone freezes when videos are sent to it from smart phones

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would not recommend this phone to anyone who sends text and video messages. Phone locks up all the time.
Pros: Speaker
Cons: Limited Memory, Operating System, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pocket dials

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
from Milwaukee, wi
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only thing bad is it likes to pocket dial your last number.
Pros: Durable, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera DuraPro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Major design flaw

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from Madison, WI
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
A button on the top of the phone disables the key lock.
This results in frequent pocket dialing. There is no way
to disable this problem. Also the volume is
too low to hear in a work van when turned
all the way up. This phone needs to be redesigned.
Pros: Durable, Battery Life
Cons: Volume Level, Bulky/Heavy, pocket dialer
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular