U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop Android Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Samsung Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB

Samsung Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB

Applicable Shared Connect Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $40 act. fee applies.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Simple Connect Plan required.After $50 mail-in rebate that comes as a MasterCard debit card. Applicable Data Plan required for 90 days. New 2 yr. agmt. and $40 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Connect Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. applies. It Takes a Lot of Things to be The Next Big ThingThe Samsung Galaxy S 4 does what you want and what you didn't know was even possible. Erase a photo's background distractions with just a touch, catch every part of your son's somersault or capture your view of the city skyline. Skip channel surfing and change the TV channel right from your phone. Preview photos and files without ever touching the screen. Use one screen to check Facebook as you catch up on email. The Galaxy S 4 does things the way they should be done—your way.
Overall rating:
4.265 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(162 reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 162 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
7
1 Star
12
131 out of 161(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
206 Questions | 320 Answers
Customer reviews for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Galaxy S4 replaced an S3

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this new S4 for about a month now. One major difference over the S3 is that my battery has yet to run out in a day. Also, the new S4 has some really usable apps and widgets. Favorite new app is the Walking mate where I can input daily what I eat. The phone then counts my steps and tells me how many calories I burn every day. That's priceless! My favorite new widget is the Assistive Light. Clicking it on, it illuminates the Flash from the camera on the back of the phone and will easily light up a dark room. It's so much nicer and brighter than those apps you can get that make your screen bright. The new 13 megapixel camera finally makes my digital camera obsolete.
The S4 is an excellent product. I don't play games on it though, so I couldn't tell you about that
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable, pre-loaded apps and widgets
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Phone

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
from Canaan, ME, USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for about a month now, and I've had no problems at all. The screen can be a bit touchy sometimes but nothing to major. Good battery life and camera quality. Call quality is nice also.
Pros: Durable, Games, Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Software Bugs
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
from Someplace Elsa
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the first smartphone ive had and i love it to death it takes the best pictures. every one saying the iphone i better they are lying the s4 is the best.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best purchase ever

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have had this phone for about 4 months. its perfect. i have not had 1 glitch/problem in my four months. its my first smartphone. used to have 2 past cheepy basic phones. and i used an ipod touch. huge upgrade from a basic phone and ipod. beautiful camera, nice and clear phone and speaker. good app store; not as good as ios appstore but google play is great. perfect size, pretty good keyboard; but takes time to get used to if u used to have an iphone or ipod. super fast, it has never once froze on me, while other devices would probably freeze sometime. good battery for the most part; im on it all the time so i cant expect it to last all day. i love it. go buy it! i reasearched all the phones before i got 1 and this one sounded the best and it absolutely has been!
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best phone I've had.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
from Des Moines, IA, USA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the S4 for over 6 months now, and am still loving it. I notice most people who are giving it a bad review, are doing so b/c of the battery life... it's a smartphone! They all drain battery fairly fast... mine last almost all day depending on how much I use it. Plus the screen/camera is the best I've seen on a phone. Though it is hard to see in sunlight.
Pros: Good For Texting, Menus, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: manly not being able to see the screen in sunlight, battery life could be better.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNK

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
from LAWTON, OKLAHOMA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
MY S3 WAS FAR GREATER PHONE WITH THE DROPPING OF CALLS THIS S4 LOCKS UP LOOSE'S SIM CARD VERY DISPLEASED WITH THIS JUNK. UPDATES ALL THE TIME LOCKING UP DURING UPDATES WILL NOT RESTART CORRECTLY THE FIRST SCREEN I EVER BROKE. WISH I HAD MY S3 BACK FAR BETTER PHONE. IF YOU MUST KNOW THAT THIS S4 WAS SENT IN REPLACEMENT DUE TO RECALL. DID NOT EQUAL MY S3 IN STORAGE.
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice phone once I rooted my S4.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
from N 44.8323 W 87.3720
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
For anyone looking to buy an S4, I would definitely recommend this phone. The screen and camera are quite awesome with many things you can fine tune to suit your preferences. Samsung really hit a home run with the bases loaded with the S4. However, if you want to get the most out of this phone I would highly recommend rooting the phone as well, I rooted mine 20 minutes after I bought it. You can disable/shut off most of the 15 or so Google garbage / corporate bloatware processes running in the background that chews up battery life in a hurry. Out of the box these phones are set-up to serve the corporate needs of the big vendors. Shut off background data too, these phones are data hungry out of the box. Once rooted you can change your DNS settings that are faster than Android's 8.8.x.x, delete unwanted programs to free up precious space on your phone . Do not let the sales people scare by saying "You will void your warranty if you root it". It's my phone, not US Cell's or Samsungs.
Pros: Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable, easy to root
Cons: Battery Life, Operating System
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is a awsome phone

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
from las vegas,nv
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
It has great features and excellent to have i love e e
It!
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Bulky/Heavy, Operating System, Full Navigation, Software Bugs, Small Keys, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

impressive

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
from Freeport, IL 61032, USA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is by far the best phone on the market. I have had all of the galaxy s 1-4. Now I have the 4. And it's the best yet. I don't think there is any company that can top it. The s4 is easy to use and very fast. I don't have a bad thing to say about it. Awesome job Samsung
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best phone I've ever had

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from Goldsboro, NC
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I planned on getting a Samsung Galaxy Mega , but i had to settle for this as an alternative . Im glad i did because this is a very great phone best phone out in my opinion ! Love the battery life and the fact that you can always customize it !
Pros: Speaker, Good For Texting, Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Software Bugs, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a piece of junk!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from WI
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just got it today (upgraded) and tried to go into the Play Store, Nope! Just hung there doing NOTHING!
Every Samsung I had has been nothing but a headache!! Wouldn't recommend to anyone! I'm taking back asap and probably switching to the iphone instead.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best phone ever

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
from boones mill va.
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
this my first Samsung phone and its the best phone have ever had so far its all around great
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good easy to use phone. lots of features and a good battery for a samsung phone.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
from Grifton, NC, USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really good phone. Had the s3 and was having issues with the signal...they shipped me an s4 and have been well pleased. Very fast..and well designed. Good battery life and I don't know if its just me but the phone charges up real fast. Just an all around good phone.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this service

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love this product its not like any other phone is is the best so far.d im trying to bet ally friendly join
Pros: Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Volume Level
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mixed feelings

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
from Roseburg, OR
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Have a bluetooth or earphones for this phone when you want to talk, otherwise, you're going to get tired of the heat. This phone gets hot, FAST, which is probably extra annoying to someone like myself who does not like talking on the phone anyhow.
The battery life is not acceptable in my opinion, but with everything that this phone can do, I suppose it's reasonable.
Excellent photos and storage capabilities.
Ease of us is good, but could be better.
I love how you can talk on the phone with your headset and use the web at the same time, or text, etc.
I find the SmartEye thing annoying, but that's me ;)
Overall, I think anyone who purchases this phone will not be disappointed- there's a lot of features to learn about and until the user fully understands this phone's capabilities, they will always have something new to play with.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is a great phone u will love it

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
from Mauston, WI, USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I know a lot of people have bad things 2 say but I dont know I guess they just had a bad phone because ive had a lot of smart phones but the s4 is the best phone I ever had or seen yet in every way its a great phone u will love it
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
from Cedar Rapids, IA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had the S4 for almost six months now and have yet to be disappointed. Nice display/visuals and a pretty high quality camera for a phone. Of all the smartphones I've owned in the past this has by far the fastest internet. It'd be nice if the volume for speaker phone was a bit louder, but it's not bad.
Pros: Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, fast
Cons: Volume Level
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great phone

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
from Dudley,NC
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this phone a few days ago and love it so far.Its the biggest phone I've ever had,which helps me read on it.I use it more for internet than calling.The battery has to be charged every day is the only complaint I have with it,but that's normal with smart phones.
Pros: Durable, Menus, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Battery Life
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still better than iphone 5

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
from tulsa
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bigger screen than iPhone 5 without all the itune updates. Itune forces you to do everything thru it and I can just plug my Galaxy into my PC and upload music and download pictures without all the itunes hassle. Bigger screen than iphone. Iphone has smoother operating system overall, but the screen size, android market, plug-play into PC make samsung a better choice. I think next Motorola generation has a change to be a contender because that phone has better google android OS. I think Samsung propriaty has kept this OS from reaching its full potential.
Pros: Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 - Black Mist 16GB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The phone is better than the iPhone

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
from Texas
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone has a lot of cool things to it but it also has some bad things. It all depends on your needs of the phone.
Pros: Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Operating System, Durability, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular