U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop Android Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Kyocera Kyocera Hydro XTRM

Kyocera Kyocera Hydro XTRM

Applicable Shared Connect Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Simple Connect Plan required. $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Connect Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. applies. Click arrow to play video
Overall rating:
3.638 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
9
32 out of 47(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Review 1 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice phone !

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
from Des Moines, IA, USA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the Kyocera Hydro EXTM for a week and it by far is the best phone I have owned. Beats the competition ! A proud owner of a Kyocera !
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Tools, Ease of Use
Cons: Battery Life, Small Keys
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Phone Ever

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
from North Prairie, WI
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband got this phone in September and has had to take it back to US Cellular 5 times to get it fixed. It kept freezing up on him, battery had to be replaced multiple times, SIMS card had to replaced 3 times. We finally took it back and demanded a different phone.
Cons: Battery Life, Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

undurable

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
from Nebraska
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Had phone 5 months and touch screen quit working, phone is useless without it..
Pros: Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Software Bugs, Durability, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great phone with an itty-bitty major problem

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
from Yonder
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this phone in contract because it is fairly cheap and durable. I had wrecked my prior two phones so the durability of the Hydro XTRM really sold me.
Durability - I love this phone. If I drop it, no problem. If I have "hypothetically" been imbibing and dropped it on concrete, no problem. I take it into the shower so I can listen to music (that's not weird, right?), again, no problem. I don't have the heart (or luck) to dunk it in water to see how water proof it really is, but I have little doubt it would survive. This baby is tough, I'll give it that. Golf clap for you Kyocera.
Screen - You get what you pay for. Decent display, it has colors and stuff. You can even play videos!! I'm not too caught up on nit-picking video on a smartphone. Let's face it, it's a phone not an 80" OLED TV. If the display isn't good enough for you, perhaps you have other issues you need to work on. How are things at work...?
Battery - No problem with the battery. I charge my phone nightly and it's still chugging along when the Sandman comes calling. I'm not watching a ton of video although I do dabble. When I run (which I should probably go do) I use a GPS tracking app, music streaming app, and interval timing app. All of that doesn't drain the battery that much. Granted, I'm a little out of shape so I don't run too far maybe for an hour or so (I'm slow. Sorry ladies, I'm taken. Isn't she lucky? Don't worry, I have a great personality). So as long as you charge your battery daily (why would you not? Weirdo) you shouldn't have any problems.
Camera - Since most people love taking pictures I'll tell you about it. Not the best camera but again, you get what you pay for. Pictures of my toddlers remind me of the pictures they take of Bigfoot. Yeah, that could definitely be him, but pretty blurry. I'm not Annie Leibovitz so I'm happy with a semi-recognizable picture to send to my wife. I imagine it would work great for the pic of your Spicy Shrimp & Cashew Vindaloo Curry though.
Memory - Memory is to me as apes were to Charlton Heston. Not a fan. I mean sure memories are great in the metaphysical sense, but on this phone...woof. First, you only get 4GB to start. Unfortunately, in looking at my phone right now, only 1GB is available to the user. Too much bloatware kills this phone. With app data that is required for the apps I use I have 104MB of available space. Thankfully you can add memory via SD card. Unfortunately you can't migrate the preloaded apps to the memory card. So on a nearly daily basis I find myself deleting cache and stopping apps just so I have enough memory to maybe apply some updates. Maybe. Of course other times I just get a message that storage space is running out so then things like messaging don't work. I constantly find myself deleting cache, uninstalling apps that I would like to use, just so I can use the basic functions of the phone.
While I can't recommend this phone currently, if Kyocera could throw some more memory in, I would happily do so. I would buy it again. I would proclaim my love for this phone from the top of a mountain or at least a really big hill (I mean really big...also, probably not a mountain as that would require unplanned travel). I would recommend it to my friends, family and enemies. Until that day comes I can't recommend it. Well maybe to my enemies.
Pros: Durable, Good For Texting, Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Limited Memory, Freezes, bigfoot quality pictures
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Was great til I dropped it.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
from Albion NE
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen not responsive. I had dropped it a few times but the last time on the bathroom tile did it in. The phone is on and rings when I call it but I can't see anything on the screen. So not the most durable but I guess the screen didn't crack:)
Pros: Ease of Use, Menus
Cons: camera quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Phone!!!! I regret buying it

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I extremely regret getting this phone. I have had nothing but problems with it. No one can hear/understand me on this phone and others say I sound very muffled. DON'T GET THIS TERRIBLE PHONE!
Pros: none
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Full Navigation
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The manual stinks, the phone freezes and or just wont work

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
from Rockland, ME
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm on my second one, because the first kept shutting itself off. The print in the manual is so small that you can't even read it and it is basically useless.
Pros: Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Software Bugs, Durability, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor reception

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
from or
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
bought this phone when I went back to a smart phone. the main appeal was the durability thing.
overall a fair to good phone on the operating side of things I would say about one click down from the first generation Samsung galaxy. if your looking for a decent smart phone at a good price this one is a good deal.
Cons: very very poor reception. probably the worst of all phones ive had. if you live in a ruel area and rely on reception do not buy this phone. also the clear and loud feature you see on the commercial only about average .
Pros: Durable
Cons: Volume Level, reception
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Phone review

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
from coralville, ia
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is a good phone overall. However, this isn't a "drop-proof" phone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This phone gets very hot when you use it. It's clumbsy and awkward to handle.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer avatar
from North Central Iowa
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Though it was supposed to be a "tough durable" smart phone, I found it to be rather delicate! the screen cracked the first time it was dropped about 12 inches. It's very much not user friendly as it's screen is too small to do all the things you expect to do with a smart phone. My husband was not impressed so he passed it on to me and I must say I prefer my Galaxy SIII and so does he.
Cons: Bulky/Heavy, Small Keys, Freezes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

don't bother

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
from mossyrock,wa
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
If you need a durable phone that is hard to destroy I guess this phone is for you, I have found it very difficult to hear anything above a whisper through the phones sealed speaker.
Pros: Durable, Battery Life, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Phone

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this phone only hours ago and i love it. It has froze up once but i was trying to do many things at once. I don't like how wallpapers are set up on this phone or how the ringtones are but The sound on it is great and overall it's a great phone.
I got mine for free but i would've paid for it. it's worth the value.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

screen broke first time it was dropped

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
from Appleton, WI
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
screen broke first time it was dropped, had only one week and would not replace
Cons: Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Disappointed
Auburn, ME
Agreed
Posted December 11, 2013
My husband and I each bought this phone for our first smart phones. He has always been "rough on equipment" so we were sold on the durability. He has dropped his from 5 feet onto a concrete floor and not broken it, but mine fell 2 feet onto ceramic tile and the screen shattered. I only had the phone for 3 months when this happened and had to pay full price to have it replaced.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too much non deletable shovelware, lousy battery life

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
from Webbers Falls, OK
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
20 hours of battery life is about all you can get due to the US Cellular loaded shovel ware which can't be deleted. Since no one has come up with a root disk on this phone yet you are stuck with a bunch of useless apps and widgets which deluge you with ads and other junk.
Pros: Durable, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: Battery Life, non removable junk apps
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great phone at a great price!!!

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
from North Carolina
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great phone that is durrable right size and has a pritty nice camera i bought a alcatel shock wave for the same price as this and it was terrible compaired to this Great Phone
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great phone for the price

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
from Dudley,NC
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for about a month,and have no complaint with it except for the battery.I have to charge it every night,which isn't as bad as the phone before this one.I hardly ever use my computer since I bought this phone.
Pros: Games, Tools, Ease of Use, Durable, Menus
Cons: Battery Life
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the cost.

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from Iowa, USA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the first non Blackberry smart phone I've owned. Compared to other androids that I've had a chance to use, it is on par. The one major critism I have is that it does not have enough internal memory to support it's apps. As far as functioning, it runs smoothly. I wish I could uninstall the bloatware it comes with. Overall, it is a much better phone than the asking price would make you think. Battery life could be better, but that is an issue with most android phones. All and all, it is a great addition to the US Cellular family.
Pros: Durable, Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Operating System, Software Bugs
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't do it.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
Might be one of the worst phones I've ever had. Other than the water/drop proof, there is nothing special about it. Reception is terrible, camera is average at best, & i've had a lot of glitch problems. I highly suggest looking at another product.
Cons: Limited Memory, Software Bugs
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it's a good phone if u drop yours a lot

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from Sabula, IA, USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have never seen a smart phone hold up like this one
Pros: Durable, Games, Good For Texting, Battery Life, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Limited Memory
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Hydro XTRM
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT phone but...

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is a great phone it has its good and bad moments but overall its a great phone.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular