U.S. Cellular Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At U.S. Cellular
Shop Android Phones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Motorola Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at U.S. Cellular.

Motorola Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise

Applicable Shared Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable No Contract Plan required. $20 or $50 act. fee may apply.Applicable Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies.Applicable Shared Data Plan required. New 2 yr. agmt. and $35 act. fee applies. The only smartphone assembled in the USA.Your Moto X is ready to listen andrespond. Talk to it, and it learnsyour voice. With the power ofGoogle Now, Moto X tells you whatyou need to know—even whenyou're not touching it. Insteadof a generic, unhelpful blinkinglight, information important toyou quietly appears on the screen.When you pick it up, Moto X iscurved to fit right in your hand.With a twist of your wrist, itbecomes your camera, and getsthe shots you'd otherwise miss.Moto X is the first smartphone everto be designed and assembled inthe USA, so it's close to you beforeit even gets to you. Once you turn iton, Moto X is all yours. Just talk.
Overall rating:
4.13 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 77 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
11
60 out of 77(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Review 1 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nothing but trouble

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from lawton, ok
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have my second Moto, I just received it two weeks ago and its doing the same thing as my last.. shuts off without warning... freezing.. power cycles constantly.. its exhausting.. I absolutely hate this phone! Its miserable, I have a phone I can barely use!
Pros: Durable
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes, power cycles
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I regret being a loyal Motorola customer...

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from Kewaskum, WI
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this phone in April 2014 and in early June, the screen went black and stayed that way. This phone was not dropped; it was not subject to water damage; and it was not abused. Consequently, I was totally floored when I learned that Motorola would not cover the Moto X repair under warranty ( I have requested an explanation twice via email but have yet to receive a response a month later). If not for carrying the additional insurance, I would have been completely out of luck on an essentially new phone which failed. I am disappointed as I've only ever used Motorola but as a result of this poor experience, I will never buy a Motorola product again.
Cons: Operating System, Software Bugs, Freezes, no accountability from motorola
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

features r awful. To many buttons to push just to make a phone call.

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from Caney, OK, USA
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
(Was a mottro fan.) Features r awful. To many buttons to push just to make a phone call. Pictures not that great either. Very disappointed. Will try something else.
Pros: really wasn't happy with anything
Cons: Volume Level, Operating System, Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this phone is good for a simple person

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
from Durand, IL 61024, USA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall good phone but I only use it for simple task..in all the other reviews I've had similar problems but for a person just getting smart phones this is a great deal. With that said, if you are a high tech person go with the I phone!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Volume Level, Battery Life, Limited Memory
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really love my Moto-X phone.

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love my Moto-X phone!
It takes great pictures. Handles my Android apps with ease. And is a real worker!
I am disappointed in dialing/calling feature(s). I wish I could 1 button press a call. But alias, it is a 2 button or a swipe/press to my main home display and then press on my contact shortcut and then press on the number to dial. Even with single phone number contact shortcuts, I have a second press, the press on the phone number. Of course I could use the hands-free voice commands to initiate a call. And that works seamlessly too.
Otherwise, the calls are clear, no dropped calls, and very satisfied!
With the proper apps, you can take a picture of a text document and OCR it into a note or other word processing document.
The phone takes great pictures and movies. Sure, they are not as good as a point and shoot or DSLR. But for a simple box camera, it is quite unbelievable. Additional apps allow you to crop, tweak, and combine images easily.
I also recommend Otter Box Defender to protect your Moto-X.
I really love my Moto-X phone!!!!
<recommended>
Pros: Speaker, Games, Battery Life, Tools, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable, android, voice to text, ocr from pictures to text, gps navigation
Cons: lack of 1 touch calling
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swear by Moto X - have three of them!!

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
from northern Illinois
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been a Motorola fan for many years. Recently, I decided to try the G3 and G4, and ultimately returned them within days because they would constantly drop calls. So I went back to Motorola. Motorola is very well known for excellent signals, as they pack as much antenna as they can in the phone. I wanted to try the Moto X because of the initial reviews for great signal. The reason is, is there is one area I travel thru daily, where at one point, I can look around, and not see ONE cell tower. However, I still have a signal - even if it is a 1X, I can still make/keep calls. Because of this, my son and daughter now have the Moto X as well.
I have seen other reviews saying that the screen shattered when dropped - and all pretty much said the same thing - fell face down. That did happen to my daughter, but she did not have a case. However, I have dropped my phone numerous times - usually falls out of my pocket, drops two feet onto a diamond plate step, and then to the asphalt. The only thing that has happened is the corner got a small dent and a couple of scratches. Screen is just fine. Realistically, ALL screens on ALL types of phones can shatter under certain circumstances.
Battery usage is very reasonable. I listen to music 3-4 hours while working, and find I use about 1/3 to 1/2 of the battery (if I don't check FB, messages, etc. it is usually 1/4 usage) When I got my phone, I went into the apps and turned off all the extra apps so they didn't run in the background, and this made a world of difference. Turning on GPS only when needed makes a big difference too. If you need to use GPS when travelling, be sure to use the power cord to keep the battery charged.
As for the storage, I do wish there were a port for an SD card. But since I started using the Cloud storage that was offered, I set it up so any pics, etc. are automatically downloaded when in a WiFi connection #saving data usage#. Now I do not need to be concerned about losing data anymore if the phone gets damaged. I then go on my computer and open the Cloud from there to offload pics, docs, etc. to my external hard drive so I don't use up my 50 gig cloud storage.
The Google Now hands free option is the BOMB!! #As my kids would say#. When you first start out, it sometimes either doesn't pick up what you say, or it "hears" it wrong. However, the more you use it, the more it recognizes the unique flexing of your voice, and becomes much more accurate. Ask it to find a phone number for a store in a certain town, it not only will locate it, but it will also ask you if you want to call it as well #and actually does it!!#
I do agree with other reviews about some of the preloaded apps on the phone. I think Motorola should keep it to a minimum, so WE can customize what WE want, without precious storage being used by apps we don't use. Other than that, I can't say too much negative about the phone - absolutely love it.
As for Freezing, I have not had an issue with any of the three phones. We are notified automatically when new updates are available for the phone, and do them in the WiFi connection. I have found in the past with another model phone, if it froze up, I would turn it off to allow it to reset #if the screen froze up and I couldn't turn it off, I would plug the power cord in, and many times it would then allow me to turn phone off.#
Pros: Durable, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Limited Memory
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

4 time Motorola customer

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
from Steamboat Rock, Iowa
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
Started with the Razor then the Electrify, then the Moto M now the Moto X.
All have worked great and living in a very rural area you need a good signal.
This one is so cool with the touchless feature and the pictures it takes are great. The only thing I wish is the caller notification when someone calls instead of the ringtones.
I highly recommend the Motorola line
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable, touchless feature
Cons: now external memory card slot
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is a poor phone all around

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
from NE Oklahoma
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had several Motorolas. In fact, I have been a Moto fan for a long time so I didn't hesitate to buy the MotoX. Here's how bad it is, my husband hated it so much within two months, he paid the extra money to upgrade to an iPhone (and it was a high price, but that's another story). He used all our upgrade points so I was stuck until the contract is up. Here are some of my beefs with this phone: The memory is limited to start with but it comes with a bunch of pre loaded apps that I don't want and they use up all the space! It's frustrating because they can not be removed! As of last week, I can't download a single app. I even deleted a bunch of pictures etc. I have done everything I am willing to do to make room but it just isn't there! Plus, I can't group text without an app. I have an sd card but this phone is so complex, I have no idea how to move the things I don't use but can't delete or if it can even be done. This is NOT user friendly phone. I also can't send or receive picture texts at random times and have to turn the phone off to reset. The Smart Actions only randomly work, I always have to check to make sure my ringer is off in certain places. The GPS is completely inaccurate at times as well. There is no way to make a song a ringtone, without an app - which I can't get. I could go on but you get the picture.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-12points
0of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer avatar
from Likely, CA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Moto X is my first smartphone I've had. I had to choose between the Samsung galaxy S4 and Moto X. I picked Moto X and I'm happy with it. Its very simple to use. I do wish you could change fonts and have two different wallpapers for the home screen and lock screen but I'm still happy with it. The battery life is great it lasts me all day and I always turn of my data usage which saves me more battery life. I do recommend this phone to anyone. :)
Pros: Speaker, Good For Texting, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Limited Memory, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Phone

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
from Peoria, IL
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've wanted an iPhone for years, and I was thrilled when the iPhone finally came to US Cellular. But, as I was contemplating getting the iPhone, I kept looking at the Moto X. I thought about both phones, did lots of research and, in the end, went with the Moto X. I've not been sorry with my decision.
The phone works great. and the fact that I could have it for one penny was certainly attractive. I like the Motorola Assist features, which even sends verbal text messages over blue tooth when I'm driving. The notification feature is great, in that I can see what the message is without unlocking the phone; if I want to, I can always wait to respond if I don't think the message is important enough to answer immediately. Battery life has been very good and I'm usually still around 30% after a full day's usage. Google Now is a great feature and I'm finding it to be every bit as good as Siri, although I've only used Siri on a wi-fi only iPad. The size is just right - not too big, not to small. I also like that the phone is closer to true Android than the Samsung models with all their extra stuff.
There are a few minor issues, of course. Sometimes the 4G connection struggles, especially if I'm inside a building. I have had the phone lock up on a few occasions, but those instances are rare. The buttons can sometimes seem a bit touchy and I've taken some "great shots" of the insides of my pockets. The camera itself is okay; it's great in a pinch, but I would much rather use a real camera.
But, in the end, I'm quite pleased with this phone and feel that I made a good decision to go with the Moto X.
Pros: Speaker, Menus, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Limited Memory, Freezes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good phone

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer avatar
from Merrimac, wi
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this phone less than six months and I've had to replace the card for it, and now it will not even turn on or take a charge at all, nothing. Screen freezes up, battery runs out very quickly and I hardly use the thing. Bad phone. I can see why it was free.
Pros: Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Software Bugs, Durability, will not charge at all
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My moto x

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer avatar
from New Hampshire
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I still love my moto x this smartphone does everything I want it to do and this is my second review and I love it more then when I first got it in fact it is the best smartphone I have ever owned and I have tried them all yes even the apple phones etc. and hands down this is the best. and all of my friends have the same phone and also if there is some thing that the other have and you don"t you can always get it on Google play.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Games, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable, it is a great smartphone
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay but not for texting

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer avatar
from Iowa
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value  
4 / 5
4 / 5
This phone is okay. There are things that are great and things that are not. Finding things is hard, you can't use your ringtones or music for ringtones without downloading from your computer or getting an app. and if you need or like to use group texting this phone is absolutely NOT the way to go. You cannot group text so again you have to download an app. My phone is staticy when I talk on it. The phone looks nice and is a good size but for just normal features it's hard to use and some features are just non existent.
Pros: Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Operating System, no group texting
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
duder12
LAX
Inaccurate review
Posted June 27, 2014
You must be new to smartphones based on your ringtone comments.
You are completely wrong on group texting. You can group text just fine in the default messaging app or you can do sms/mms/hangouts messages in the new hangouts app.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best phone ever!!!

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
from Omaha, NE.
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this phone for about a year now and it's proven to be one of the best phones I've ever owned. I've dropped it several times with no damage except a few scratches on the case. Its phone voice recognition is superior to any other phone I have owned. It takes excellent quality pictures and videos and is very easy to use. I HIGHLY recommend this phone even to first time smartphone users.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable, very durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Moto X

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
from Wisconsin
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease Of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Display 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had this phone for about a month, I am not impressed at all. Do not like how it shows the notifications, unless you are looking at your phone you don't know if you have one, battery life is not the best, all thought others said the battery was great, I could do more things with my galaxy s3 than I can do with this.
Pros: Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Battery Life, Limited Memory, Small Keys
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Garry
NH.
Info on moto x
Posted June 3, 2014
I have had my moto x for about a year now and it's the best smartphone I ever owed and I know you have a few things that you wish were different like the batt. well all you need to do is go to google play and their are a lot of apps for the battery or anything else like their is one to save the battery and I have one that tells me when I should charge it and I don't have to look at my phone it just tells me.!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great phone but fragile!

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
2 / 5
2 / 5
I love this phone. It gets great service reception and I live in the country and most phones don't get service, but this phone does. It works great, takes great pictures, and easy to use. My only issue with the phone is it is VERY fragile. If you get this phone get a case for it ASAP. I dropped my phone from not a very far distance and it shattered the screen. It broke to the point I can no longer use the phone at all. To make it worse I can't even turn the phone off because I can't get to the battery to remove it.
Pros: Speaker, Battery Life, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: Limited Memory, Durability, can't remove battery
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best phone for the money

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer avatar
from Wisconsin, USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome phone I'd say it's better than the iPhone 5c hands down and is cheaper. loved the intuitive app moto drive. definitely worth every penny!!!
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This really is a smart phone!!!

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from Roanoke, VA, US A
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
OK, I've done the Galaxy S thing for four years. While they're good smartphones, half of they're cool features are just "fluff."
The Moto X is THE best Android smartphone I've ever had by far. It does everything I need it to do and more. The feature that tells people that your driving and you'll call them back is invaluable. I use Google Speak several times a day. This phone does a lot very very well. While I'm sure it's not for everyone, its perfect for me.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Phone fell in dirt & screen cracked

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
from Sheboygan, WI
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease Of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value  
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
Well, the phone is very good if you don't have a minor accident. It fell into some fairly soft dirt face down and the screen shattered.
After further research, it appears the Moto X has a problem with broken screens.
If you never drop your phone, kudos to you and you will love this device. However, I don't know anyone that hasn't dropped their phone, or anything for that matter, at least once.
Pros: Battery Life, Camera/Video Quality
Cons: fragile
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Motorola Moto X™ - Turquoise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ditch that iPhone. The answer is the Moto X.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
from Portland, OR
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease Of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value  
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Moto X is a long awaited partnership between Google and Motorola to create a smartphone to rival the iPhone 5. Unlike the big screen high-caliber Android devices like the Samsung Galaxy S5, the Moto X put the emphasis on battery life and ease-of-use. Forget about expandable memory. That’s what the cloud is for. Don’t bother trying to replace the battery either. Like the iPhone, the power source is internal. But if you want something that’s sleek, easy to operate and lasts forever on a single charge, you might want to look here.
The Moto X is a physically small phone for what is the flagship of the line. But because it only measures 5 inches wide, it is incredibly easy to operate every bit of this phone with one hand. There are only three physical buttons on the phone. The power/lock button and the volume buttons are on the right side, making them easy to operate with your thumb (sorry, lefties). This makes the phone feel more like one piece, more of a premium product. The back is curved to better fit your hand. Most importantly, according to Motorola, the back panel and trim rings can be switched out to customize the look of your phone (a la iPhone 5c). Some of the third party cases out there also have a clear back (which is what I have) to better show off your sense of style.
Now that the phone has been out for a while, the updates that have come out have really made the Moto X a do-it-all device for the everyman. The new Kit Kat version of Google’s operating system is a revelation for users of older software. It’s been fitted with Google Now, Android’s answer to Siri. It works nearly as fluidly and because this phone has noise cancelling technology in the microphone, you can use it in a realtively noisy area (busy downtown areas and concerts still mean you have to use the keyboard though). The active lock screen is a nice touch as well. The screen is blank most of the time when the phone is in standby mode, but it periodically flashes a clock and some notifications at you when the phone is face up. It stays blank when it is face down or in your pocket. The active lock screen is dim enough that it never bothered me sitting on the night stand while I slept. Motorola’s suite of apps are really well integrated too. They don’t intrude and are there to try and enhance the experience.
Even though this phone only has a dual-core processor (unlike its quad-cored competitors), the difference in processing power isn’t an issue in day-to-day use. The good news is that these are low voltage internals, and even after a day of heavy downloading and YouTube videos, it lasted a full 17 hours. Using it like normal makes this a worry free, charge-every-night phone. Unless you’re gaming heavily and often and you have a quad-core phone right next to you for comparison, you won’t really need the extra processing power. It’s also incredibly quick and easy to connect Bluetooth devices and WiFi networks (as easy as connecting to WiFi can be anyway). While not as easy to sync to the home computer as an Apple product, it is certainly easier than older Android devices.
I have had this phone for about two weeks now, and I would recommend it to anyone looking to get away from the iPhone. It’s almost as easy to use, and because it is an Android device, you can have all the third-party software you want. It’s a real chore to drain the battery in one day. And on top of all of that, it’s a really good-looking smartphone as well. Drop that iPhone and look to Motorola.
Pros: Durable, Speaker, Good For Texting, Menus, Battery Life, Tools, Ease of Use, Camera/Video Quality, Wi-fi capable
Cons: no expandable storage
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
© 2011 U.S. Cellular